H.R. No. 2007

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Citizens from across the Lone Star State are 2 gathering at the State Capitol on May 4, 2015, for the Peace 3 Officers' Memorial Ceremony, held in honor of those brave men and 4 women who have lost their lives in the line of duty; and

5 WHEREAS, Texans everywhere are indebted to members of the law 6 enforcement profession who, by their selfless devotion to the 7 public welfare, have enabled us to enjoy the benefits of a peaceful 8 and orderly society; and

9 WHEREAS, Too seldom recognized and sometimes taken for 10 granted by the public they so faithfully serve, these intrepid 11 individuals daily risk their lives in order to preserve domestic 12 tranquility and to protect their fellow residents; and

13 WHEREAS, Police Officer Robert C. Deckard Jr. of the San 14 Antonio Police Department earned the respect and admiration of his 15 peers for his commitment to serving the greater good, and his 16 contributions will not soon be forgotten; and

WHEREAS, Throughout his tenure, which spanned nine years, Officer Deckard demonstrated the loyalty, courage, and self-sacrifice that are consistent with the highest ideals of the law enforcement profession; and

21 WHEREAS, Killed in the line of duty on Friday, December 20, 22 2013, at the age of 31, Officer Deckard will long be missed by his 23 family, his fellow peace officers, and the entire community; and 24 WHEREAS, Though his life ended far too soon, Officer Deckard

1

H.R. No. 2007

1 left behind a notable legacy that will forever be honored by those 2 who follow in this difficult but essential profession; now, 3 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Police Officer Robert
C. Deckard Jr. of the San Antonio Police Department and extend
deepest sympathy to his relatives, friends, and fellow officers;
and, be it further

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 11 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Police 12 Officer Robert C. Deckard Jr.

Fletcher

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira Otto

Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 2007

H.R. No. 2007

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2007 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on April 28, 2015.

Chief Clerk of the House