H.R. No. 2017

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Citizens from across the Lone Star State are
- 2 gathering at the State Capitol on May 4, 2015, for the Peace
- 3 Officers' Memorial Ceremony, held in honor of those brave men and
- 4 women who have lost their lives in the line of duty; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Texans everywhere are indebted to members of the law
- 6 enforcement profession who, by their selfless devotion to the
- 7 public welfare, have enabled us to enjoy the benefits of a peaceful
- 8 and orderly society; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Too seldom recognized and sometimes taken for
- 10 granted by the public they so faithfully serve, these intrepid
- 11 individuals daily risk their lives in order to preserve domestic
- 12 tranquility and to protect their fellow residents; and
- 13 WHEREAS, Police Officer William Jason Sprague of the
- 14 Texarkana Police Department earned the respect and admiration of
- 15 his peers for his commitment to serving the greater good, and his
- 16 contributions will not soon be forgotten; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Throughout his tenure, which spanned six years and
- 18 two months, Officer Sprague demonstrated the loyalty, courage, and
- 19 self-sacrifice that are consistent with the highest ideals of the
- 20 law enforcement profession; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Killed in the line of duty on Saturday, June 15,
- 22 2013, at the age of 30, Officer Sprague will long be missed by his
- 23 family, his fellow peace officers, and the entire community; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Though his life ended far too soon, Officer Sprague

H.R. No. 2017

- 1 left behind a notable legacy that will forever be honored by those
- 2 who follow in this difficult but essential profession; now,
- 3 therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Police Officer
- 6 William Jason Sprague of the Texarkana Police Department and extend
- 7 deepest sympathy to his relatives, friends, and fellow officers;
- 8 and, be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 10 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 11 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Police
- 12 Officer William Jason Sprague.

Fletcher

## H.R. No. 2017

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Alonzo Guillen Paul Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Reynolds Bernal Hunter Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Romero, Jr. Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Dale Leach Spitzer Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Vo Farrar Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Nevárez Oliveira

Otto

Giddings

Gonzales

Goldman

Zedler

Zerwas

	H.R. No. 2017
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 2017 was	unanimously adopted by a rising
rote of the House on April 28, 2015.	
	Chief Clerk of the House