H.R. No. 2029

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Jim Griffith of Waco has devoted much of his life to
- 2 public service and to advocacy on behalf of his political ideals;
- 3 and
- 4 WHEREAS, The son of U.S. Olympic wrestling coach Art
- 5 Griffith, Mr. Griffith helped start the Texas A&M University NCAA
- 6 wrestling team during the 1950s, and during the 1960s he moved to
- 7 San Marcos, where he participated in the senatorial campaigns of
- 8 John Tower and George H. W. Bush; in 1962, he was elected chair of
- 9 the Hays County Republican Party, and the following year he was
- 10 elected to the State Republican Executive Committee; and
- 11 WHEREAS, An expert in issues related to poverty and
- 12 vocational education, Mr. Griffith has served four U.S.
- 13 presidents; under Richard Nixon and Gerald Ford, he was the Office
- 14 of Economic Opportunity regional director for Texas, Oklahoma,
- 15 Arkansas, Louisiana, and New Mexico, and he later moved to
- 16 Washington, D.C., where he served as the assistant director and
- 17 director of operations for the War on Poverty and the director of
- 18 Indian and migrant programs; and
- WHEREAS, In the early 1980s, Mr. Griffith was working for the
- 20 Texas State Technical Institute in Waco when he met his future wife,
- 21 Sharon, who ran the school's admissions offices; when Mr. Griffith
- 22 was offered a chance to join the Reagan administration, the couple
- 23 moved to Washington, D.C., and got married in a church on Capitol
- 24 Hill; Mrs. Griffith went to work for the Republican National

H.R. No. 2029

- 1 Committee, while Mr. Griffith served as executive director of the
- 2 President's Council on Vocational and Technical Education, working
- 3 with state vocational education offices and the National Chamber of
- 4 Commerce; he was the author of a book published by the President's
- 5 Council called A Nation at Work; and
- 6 WHEREAS, The couple returned to the Waco area in 1989, and
- 7 Mr. Griffith continued to advise the administration of George H. W.
- 8 Bush on matters of vocational and technical education; in 1993, the
- 9 couple purchased and restored the historic Deyerle-Fall Mansion in
- 10 McGregor, which they now rent out for private parties, while
- 11 Mr. Griffith remains active in local politics; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Our communities benefit immeasurably from the
- 13 dedication of public-spirited individuals such as Jim Griffith, and
- 14 he may indeed take great pride in his myriad contributions to the
- 15 betterment of this state and nation; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 17 Legislature hereby commend Jim Griffith for his long and
- 18 distinguished record of public service and civic engagement and
- 19 extend to him sincere best wishes for continued happiness; and, be
- 20 it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for Mr. Griffith as an expression of high regard by the
- 23 Texas House of Representatives.

Anderson of McLennan

H.R. No. 2029

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo	González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy	Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman
Flynn Frank	Moody Morrison	Walle White of Bell
Giddings Goldman	Naishtat Nevárez	Wu Zedler
Gonzales	Oliveira	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 2029
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 2029 w 2015, by a non-record vote.	was adopted by the House on May 6,
	Chief Clerk of the House