H.R. No. 2097

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The second annual 5-Star Innovation Cup STEM
Showcase and Competition was held at Fort Bliss on March 21, 2015;
and

WHEREAS, This event is designed to foster interest in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) subjects among area youth and to increase student experience in these fields; during the competition, middle and high school students from El Paso and New Mexico present scientific method and engineering projects to Fort Bliss military leadership, competing for \$1,000 scholarships as well as numerous other prizes; and

11 WHEREAS, The 5-Star Innovation Cup was established by Shane 12 Haggerty and Liza Montelongo, cofounders of the El Paso STEM 13 Foundation; the event grew out of the foundation's mission to 14 ensure the economic vitality of the El Paso-Southwest region by 15 turning the area into a hub for STEM business and education and by 16 cultivating local experts in these fields; and

WHEREAS, The El Paso STEM Foundation sponsors the event in 17 18 collaboration with the Fort Bliss Brigade Modernization Command, led by General John Charlton, and Rod Chavez; the competition also 19 20 benefits from the support of Texas-based STEM professionals and 21 nonprofit organizations, such as Reasoning Mind, а blended-learning math program run by Alex and Julia Khachatryan and 22 23 their son, George; and

24

WHEREAS, Strong educational programs in science, technology,

1

H.R. No. 2097

1 engineering, and math are vital to the future of this state and 2 nation, and those dedicated individuals who make the 5-Star 3 Innovation Cup possible are indeed deserving of recognition for 4 their outstanding contribution to their community; now, therefore, 5 be it

6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 7 Legislature hereby commemorate the second annual 5-Star Innovation 8 Cup STEM Showcase and Competition and commend Shane Haggerty and 9 Liza Montelongo of the El Paso STEM Foundation for bringing the 10 event to residents of the El Paso area; and, be it further

11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 12 prepared for the El Paso STEM Foundation as an expression of high 13 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Moody

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira Otto

Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 2097

H.R. No. 2097

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2097 was adopted by the House on April 20, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House