H.R. No. 2098

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Warren Seay is stepping down from the DeSoto 2 Independent School District Board of Trustees on May 26, 2015, 3 after six years of outstanding service to that body; and WHEREAS, Mr. Seay first won a seat on the DeSoto ISD board in 4 5 May 2009 at the age of 20, becoming the youngest elected official in Dallas County history, and he has served as president of the group 6 7 since 2011; during his tenure on the board, he has played an

U.S. Department of Education, and in expanding early childhood 10

instrumental role in creating the DeSoto Early College High School

and the iSTEAM Academy, in securing a GEAR UP grant from the

11 education to full-day pre-K for all eligible students; he has also

12 overseen the development of the International Baccalaureate

Diploma Program and the renovation of DeSoto High School to provide 13

14 improved facilities for the College and Career Academies;

furthermore, he has skillfully balanced the budget while lowering 15

16 the tax rate and increasing teacher pay; and

8

9

WHEREAS, A native of Dallas County, Warren Seay attended 17 Southern Methodist University, graduating summa cum laude in 2010 18 with a bachelor of arts in political science and returning to earn a 19 20 juris doctor degree in 2013; during the course of his collegiate 21 career, he published a chapter entitled "Human Rights in Egypt" in 22 Human Rights and National Security Dilemmas and drafted a chapter 23 on affirmative action for Contentious Social Issues; he was 24

recognized as a Ray and Nancy Ann Hunt Leadership Scholar, a USA

H.R. No. 2098

- 1 Today Academic All-American, an Institute for Responsible
- 2 Citizenship Scholar, and SMU's Most Outstanding Senior Man, and he
- 3 received the Harry S. Truman Scholarship; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Seay has continued to excel as an attorney with
- 5 the Real Estate Finance Practice Group at Winstead PC, where he
- 6 represents national and local banks and capital market lenders and
- 7 borrowers and serves on the firm's diversity committee; he is an
- 8 active member of the Dallas Bar Association and the JL Turner Legal
- 9 Society, and he was named a 2015 Black Alumni of SMU History Maker
- 10 and a Winstead's Juris Doctor Scholar in recognition of his myriad
- 11 accomplishments; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Through his visionary leadership and passionate
- 13 commitment to the schoolchildren of DeSoto, this dynamic young
- 14 Texan has contributed immeasurably to his community, and he has
- 15 earned the respect and appreciation of countless area residents;
- 16 now, therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby honor Warren Seay for his service on the DeSoto
- 19 Independent School District Board of Trustees and extend to him
- 20 sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for Mr. Seay as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 23 House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

H.R. No. 2098

Straus González Otto Allen Guerra Paddie Alonzo Parker Guillen Alvarado Gutierrez Paul Anchia Harless Peña Anderson of Dallas Phelan Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Phillips Herrero Ashby Howard Pickett Aycock Huberty Price Bell Hughes Raney Bernal Raymond Hunter Blanco Isaac Reynolds Bohac Israel Riddle Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Rinaldi Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Romero, Jr. King of Hemphill Burrows Rose King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Sanford Canales Schaefer Schofield Capriglione Clardy Klick Schubert Coleman Koop Shaheen Collier Krause Sheets Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smith Leach Smithee Dale Darby Longoria Spitzer Davis of Dallas Springer Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stephenson Deshotel Márquez Stickland Dukes Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Elkins McClendon Tinderholt Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Fallon Meyer Miles Turner of Tarrant Farias Miller of Comal Farney VanDeaver Miller of Fort Bend Villalba Farrar Minjarez Vo Fletcher Moody Walle Flynn White of Bell White of Tyler Frank Morrison Frullo Muñoz, Jr. Galindo Workman Murphy Geren Murr Wray Giddings Naishtat Wıı

Nevárez

Oliveira

Goldman

Gonzales

Zedler

Zerwas

	H.R. No. 2098
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 20	098 was adopted by the House on May 1,
2015, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House