RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, A full and generous life has drawn to a close with
 the death of Charles Coleman Winn of Corpus Christi on February 20,
 2015, at the age of 86; and

WHEREAS, Charlie Winn was born on June 18, 1928, in Long
Beach, California, to Charles A. Winn and Milla Blanche Nelson
Winn; he graduated from William Adams High School in Alice, Texas,
in 1945, and he went on to attend Texas A&I University at Kingsville
and The University of Texas at Austin; and

9 WHEREAS, Mr. Winn shared more than 64 years of marriage with 10 Patsy H. Brown, and he was the proud father of five children, 11 Stephanie Winn, C. A. Winn, Tom Winn, Southern Winn, and the late 12 Sissy Winn Seale; and

13 WHEREAS, The founder of Winn Exploration Company, Mr. Winn 14 worked for many years in the oil business in Texas and nine other states, as well as Australia and Canada, and he served on the 15 National Petroleum Council; he was also active in banking as a board 16 member for American Bank in Corpus Christi and director of First 17 National Bank and Highland Park State Bank in San Antonio; 18 recognized for his professional achievements, he was named an "All 19 American Wildcatter" in 1993, and in 1996, he received the M. B. 20 21 Rudman Outstanding Wildcatter Award; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Winn dedicated much of his time and energy to serving his community, especially as an advocate for higher education; he served on various boards for Texas A&I University,

1

Baylor University's Council for Institutional Development, the Santa Rosa Medical Center, Baptist Child and Family Services, and the Texas State Aquarium; he was the Texas Ambassador of Goodwill to the inauguration of Mexican president Adolfo Lopez Mateos, and he was twice named Señor Amistad for his efforts to promote amity between the United States and Mexico; and

7 WHEREAS, In 2001, Mr. Winn was honored by the Texas House of 8 Representatives for his contributions to the communities of Eagle Pass and Uvalde and the State of Texas; his philanthropy was also 9 recognized by the South Texas Celebrity Weekend, the South Texas 10 11 Council of the Boy Scouts of America, the American Heart 12 Association, and the American Cancer Society; in 2008, his family established the C. C. (Charlie) Winn Endowed Chair for Quail 13 14 Research at the Caesar Kleberg Wildlife Research Institute, and in 15 2012, he was presented with the G. Russell Kirkland Award for his support of Texas A&M University--Corpus Christi and South Texas; 16 17 and

WHEREAS, A loving family man, a dedicated community leader, and a dynamic entrepreneur, Charlie Winn was both a Texas success story and the embodiment of the spirit of civic engagement, and he leaves behind a legacy of service to others that will continue to inspire all those who knew and loved him; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Charles Coleman Winn and extend sincere condolences to the members of his family: to his wife, Patsy H. Winn; to his daughter, Stephanie Winn; to his sons, C. A. Winn and his wife, Nancy, Tom Winn and his wife, Melissa, and

2

Southern Winn and his wife, Cathy; to his grandchildren, Megan,
 Cathleen, Dillon, Southern, Cody, Amy, Trey, Sissy, and Nicole
 Winn; to his great-granddaughter, Vivian Winn; and to his other
 relatives and friends; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 7 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Charles 8 Coleman Winn.

Nevárez

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 2099

4

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2099 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 21, 2015.

Chief Clerk of the House