H.R. No. 2124

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Sunnyvale High School baseball team reached the 2 pinnacle of success by winning the 2014 University Interscholastic
- 3 League 2A state championship on June 5 at the Dell Diamond in Round
- 4 Rock; and
- 5 WHEREAS, After capturing a share of the District 12-2A
- 6 regular season title, the Raiders began their march through the
- 7 postseason with consecutive two-game sweeps of S&S Consolidated and
- 8 Paradise High Schools to advance to the regional quarterfinals;
- 9 there, they split the first two games and then pulled out a
- 10 series-clinching 8-4 extra-innings victory over their district
- 11 rivals from Farmersville High School in Game 3; Sunnyvale
- 12 subsequently bested the squads from Hughes Springs and Grandview
- 13 High Schools to secure the program's debut trip to the state
- 14 tournament; and
- WHEREAS, In the semifinals, the Raiders found themselves in a
- 16 hard-fought contest against East Bernard High School in which the
- 17 score was tied entering the final inning; Jose Castillo's squeeze
- 18 bunt scored Lawson Ayo to give Sunnyvale a 4-3 lead, and in the
- 19 bottom half of the inning, Wesley Phillips picked off a runner with
- 20 the bases loaded to send the Raiders to the championship contest in
- 21 dramatic fashion; and
- 22 WHEREAS, Matching up against Troy High School with the state
- 23 crown on the line, Sunnyvale benefited from exceptional
- 24 performances by Seth Metzger, who sparked the offense with a

H.R. No. 2124

- 1 three-run homer, and Nathan Hawkins, who struck out 11 opposing
- 2 hitters in a complete-game performance that earned him the Most
- 3 Valuable Player honor; when the final out was recorded, the team
- 4 captured the first state baseball title in school history with a
- 5 dominant 13-3 triumph; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Excelling with a true team effort, the Raiders also
- 7 received significant contributions throughout the season from the
- 8 other members of the roster: Matt Dotson, Zander Thompson, Evan
- 9 Adrian, Conner Mears, Ryan Cottingame, Brant Taylor, Joey Rosato,
- 10 Curt Fitzgerald, Cash Goodhart, Dawson Williams, Sam Shaver, and
- 11 Jake Wilcox; the players were ably guided by head coach Tim Arden
- 12 and assistant coach Brandon Kajihiro; and
- 13 WHEREAS, Winning a state championship represents the
- 14 culmination of countless hours of hard work and an unwavering
- 15 commitment to excellence, and the talented student-athletes of the
- 16 Sunnyvale baseball team may indeed reflect with pride on their
- 17 remarkable accomplishment; now, therefore, be it
- 18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 19 Legislature hereby congratulate the Sunnyvale High School baseball
- 20 team on winning the 2014 UIL 2A state championship and extend to the
- 21 team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for
- 22 continued success; and, be it further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 25 House of Representatives.

Burkett

H.R. No. 2124

Straus González Otto Allen Guerra Paddie Alonzo Parker Guillen Alvarado Gutierrez Paul Anchia Harless Peña Anderson of Dallas Phelan Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Phillips Herrero Ashby Howard Pickett Aycock Huberty Price Bell Hughes Raney Raymond Bernal Hunter Blanco Isaac Reynolds Bohac Israel Riddle Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Rinaldi Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Romero, Jr. King of Hemphill Burrows Rose King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Sanford Canales Schaefer Schofield Capriglione Clardy Klick Schubert Coleman Koop Shaheen Collier Krause Sheets Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smith Leach Smithee Dale Darby Longoria Spitzer Davis of Dallas Springer Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stephenson Deshotel Márquez Stickland Dukes Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Elkins McClendon Tinderholt Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Fallon Meyer Miles Turner of Tarrant Farias Miller of Comal Farney VanDeaver Miller of Fort Bend Villalba Farrar Minjarez Vo Fletcher Moody Walle Flynn White of Bell White of Tyler Frank Morrison Frullo Muñoz, Jr. Galindo Workman Murphy Geren Murr Wray Giddings Naishtat Wıı

Nevárez

Oliveira

Goldman

Gonzales

Zedler

Zerwas

											H.R.	No.	2124
							_		 			, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,	
								Speaker of the House					
	I	certify	that	H.R.	No.	2124	was	adopted	d by	the	House	on M	May 6,
2015,	by	a non-re	ecord	vote	•								
							_			· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	1 1 1 1		
								Chi	ef Cl	erk	of the	e Hou	se