H.R. No. 2127

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Mendoza Debate Society at Lee College in Baytown 2 is the highest-ranked community college debate team in the country, 3 and its members indeed merit special recognition for their 4 achievements; and

5 WHEREAS, The debate society, named for retired Lee College 6 instructor and former debate coach Joseph D. Mendoza, was 7 reestablished in 2013 with the help of college president Dennis 8 Brown and academic dean Dr. Jeff Thies; in the past two years, the 9 debaters have earned more than 150 competitive awards, including 10 three national championships in the 2013-2014 season; and

11 WHEREAS, During the 2014-2015 season, the Mendoza Debate 12 Society captured six national championship wins and more than two 13 dozen individual and team regular season championships; it is the 14 top International Public Debate Association program in Texas, and 15 it finished the season at fifth place in the United States; this is 16 the first time a community college has achieved this level of 17 success in the history of the IPDA; and

WHEREAS, Ably guided by director of forensics Joe Ganakos and volunteer assistant coach Preston Langley, the members of the Lee College Mendoza Debate Society include Himmler Assing, Cody Bijou, Kyle Diamond, Reagan Dobbs, Joselyn Mendoza, Dax Ramgoolam, Brandon Reinertsen, Rigo Ruiz, Shawn Start, and Emily Trevino; and

23 WHEREAS, These talented young men and women have demonstrated 24 outstanding skill and dedication, and they are a source of great

1

1 pride to their families and school and to this state; now, 2 therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 4 Legislature hereby congratulate the members of the Mendoza Debate 5 Society on their success and extend to them sincere best wishes for 6 the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

Smith Faircloth Peña Otto

H.R. No. 2127

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 2127

H.R. No. 2127

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2127 was adopted by the House on May 1, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House