H.R. No. 2182

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The family and friends of Lena Mae McElroy of Corpus
Christi are mourning the loss of this beloved woman, who passed away
on April 11, 2015, at the age of 78; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. McElroy was born in Corpus Christi on July 7, 1936, to Tommy Lee and Annie Brown; she attended Tuloso-Midway High School and went on to find employment as a bus driver with the Calallen Independent School District, where she continued to work for the next four decades; she was a longtime resident of the Calallen area of Corpus Christi and a valued congregant at Annaville Baptist Church; and

WHEREAS, Dedicated to her family, Mrs. McElroy shared a 11 12 rewarding marriage with Bennett Ray McElroy until his passing in 1986; she took great pride in her daughter, Linda, and her four 13 14 sons, Darryl, Kenneth, Allen, and Bennett, and she cherished the time with her 10 grandchildren 15 she spent and 11 16 great-grandchildren; and

WHEREAS, Lena McElroy led a caring and purposeful life, and she will be forever remembered with deep affection by all those who held her close to their hearts; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 21 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Lena Mae McElroy and 22 extend sincere sympathy to the members of her family: to her 23 daughter, Linda Ursrey, and her husband, Kurt; to her sons, Darryl 24 McElroy and his wife, Carol, Kenneth McElroy and his wife, Vicki,

1

H.R. No. 2182

1 Allen McElroy and his wife, Audrey, and Bennett Ray McElroy Jr. and 2 his wife, Betty; to her sister, Dorothy Foster; to her 10 3 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren; and to her other 4 relatives and many friends; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of 7 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Lena Mae 8 McElroy.

Herrero

H.R. No. 2182

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2182 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 21, 2015.

Chief Clerk of the House