H.R. No. 2267

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, In an impressive demonstration of skill and 2 determination, the girls' wrestling team of Cypress Ridge High 3 School in Houston won the 2015 University Interscholastic League 6A 4 state championship on February 21 in Garland; and

5 WHEREAS, Facing off against other top contenders at the UIL 6 Wrestling State Tournament, the Lady Rams tallied a total of 78 7 points, finishing 24 points better than runner-up Corpus Christi 8 King High School, to claim the 6A crown; moreover, the victory 9 marked the program's second state title in the last three seasons; 10 and

11 WHEREAS, Leading the way for Cypress Ridge was senior Paige 12 Baynes, who triumphed in her first three matches and finished in 13 second place in the 215-pound weight class; senior Abbie Rhodes 14 also earned a medal for the Lady Rams, taking home third place in 15 the 165-pound division; and

16 WHEREAS, The team also received crucial points from junior 17 Aiyana Batiste after she won three matches against her opponents to 18 claim fourth place in the 148-pound weight class, and senior 19 Mashyrah Rayson defeated four competitors at 185 pounds for a fifth 20 place finish; in addition, senior Lizae Lagrone represented Cypress 21 Ridge in the 138-pound class; and

WHEREAS, These talented student-athletes were ably guided by head coach Tim Ray, who was named the 6A Coach of the Year for leading Cypress Ridge to the title; and

1

H.R. No. 2267

1 WHEREAS, The members of the Cypress Ridge High School girls' 2 wrestling team are a source of great pride to their school and 3 community, and the memory of this championship achievement will be 4 cherished for many years to come; now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 6 Legislature hereby congratulate the Cypress Ridge High School 7 girls' wrestling team on winning the 2015 UIL 6A state championship 8 and extend to all those associated with the team sincere best wishes 9 for the future; and, be it further

10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 11 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 12 House of Representatives.

Harless

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira Otto

Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 2267

H.R. No. 2267

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2267 was adopted by the House on April 29, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House