RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The girls' basketball team of Cypress Woods High 2 School reached the pinnacle of success by winning the University Interscholastic League 6A state championship on March 7, 2015; and 3 WHEREAS, The title game victory closed out an unforgettable 4 5 year in which Cypress Woods went undefeated to claim the district crown and then blazed a path through the playoffs; winning its 6 7 postseason contests by an astounding average of 27 points per game, the team advanced to the state tournament at the Alamodome in San 8 9 Antonio, where they beat Wagner High School by a score of 79-60 in 10 the semifinals to earn a place in the 6A championship game; and 11 WHEREAS, Matched up against the team from Dallas Skyline High 12 School in the tournament final, the Lady Wildcats maintained the lead throughout the first quarter, but ended the half trailing by 13 14 four points; demonstrating their undeniable will to win, the team surged to the lead again in the second half and went on to record a 15 16 57-49 triumph; senior Erica Ogwumike scored 26 points and grabbed 8 17 rebounds in a performance that earned her the Most Valuable Player 18 award; and WHEREAS, Excelling through teamwork, the Lady Wildcats also 19 20 benefited from the outstanding contributions made throughout the year by the other members of the roster: Shelby Stephenson, Tatyana 21 Perez, Hannah Dolinsky, Olivia Holmes, Jasmine Williams, Madelin 22 23 Cowden, Madison Goodson, Kayla Alker, Nancy Mulkey, and Cate Reese; these talented student-athletes were guided by head coach Virginia 24

H.R. No. 2268

- 1 Flores, who inspired the team to perform to its full potential; and
- 2 WHEREAS, Exhibiting a combination of exceptional talent and
- 3 fierce determination, the Lady Wildcats have proved themselves one
- 4 of the finest high school teams in Texas, and their success is a
- 5 source of great pride to their many supporters in the local
- 6 community; now, therefore, be it
- 7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 8 Legislature hereby congratulate the Cypress Woods High School Lady
- 9 Wildcats basketball team on winning the UIL 6A state championship
- 10 and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best
- 11 wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 13 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 14 House of Representatives.

Harless

H.R. No. 2268

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Alonzo Guillen Paul Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Bernal Reynolds Hunter Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Romero, Jr. Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Leach Spitzer Dale Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Vo Farrar Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Nevárez Oliveira

Otto

Giddings

Gonzales

Goldman

Zedler

Zerwas

			H.R.	No.	2268
_	Speaker of the House				
I certify that H.R. No. 2268 was	adopted	by the	House	on	April
15, by a non-record vote.					
_					

Chief Clerk of the House

29, 2015, by a non-record vote.