RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Five vocalists from Midway High School in Waco were
- 2 chosen as 2015 Texas All-State Choir members by the Texas Music
- 3 Educators Association; and
- WHEREAS, The TMEA All-State designation is the highest
- 5 accolade that a Texas music student can earn; more than 60,000 young
- 6 people from across the state compete each year for a place in one of
- 7 15 All-State bands, orchestras, and choirs; those who are selected
- 8 for one of the ensembles are among the top one percent of high
- 9 school musicians in the Lone Star State and are invited to attend
- 10 the annual TMEA convention in San Antonio, where they participate
- 11 in three days of intense rehearsals and perform a concert under the
- 12 direction of a nationally recognized conductor; and
- WHEREAS, Those students named as 2015 All-State Choir members
- 14 from Midway High School are seniors Abby Bennett and Elaine Sury,
- 15 juniors Isaac Bradley and Christopher Curry, and sophomore Brittany
- 16 Brewer; guided by choir directors Jeff and Jannifer Rice and
- 17 private voice instructors David Guess and Julianne Best, these
- 18 students demonstrated exceptional musicianship and technical
- 19 facility throughout the audition process; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Through countless hours of preparation and an
- 21 unwavering commitment to excellence, these gifted young Texans have
- 22 earned a place among the state's elite high school choral members,
- 23 and they may indeed take great pride in their outstanding
- 24 achievement; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 2275

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Abby Bennett, Isaac Bradley,
- 3 Brittany Brewer, Christopher Curry, and Elaine Sury on their
- 4 selection as 2015 Texas All-State Choir members and extend to them
- 5 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 7 for the vocalists as an expression of high regard by the Texas House
- 8 of Representatives.

Anderson of McLennan

H.R. No. 2275

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2275 was adopted by the House on May 21, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House