H.R. No. 2339

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Residents of Marshall are gathering in Austin on
- 2 April 29, 2015, to celebrate City of Marshall Day at the State
- 3 Capitol; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Located near the Texas-Louisiana border in the
- 5 beautiful rolling hills of East Texas, the city was named in honor
- 6 of John Marshall, chief justice of the U.S. Supreme Court from 1801
- 7 to 1835, and it has served as the seat of Harrison County since
- 8 1842; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Marshall had become one of the largest and
- 10 wealthiest towns in the region by 1860, and its success was due in
- 11 large part to the railway system that supported the town's
- 12 commercial and industrial development and sizable agricultural
- 13 industry; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Today, it is home to four institutions of higher
- 15 learning: East Texas Baptist University, Texas State Technical
- 16 College, Wiley College, and Marshall College Center of Panola
- 17 College; it is an important retail and manufacturing center, with
- 18 oil and gas production also contributing to its economy;
- 19 additionally, residents have built a flourishing ceramics trade,
- 20 and it has become widely known as the Pottery Capital of East Texas;
- 21 and
- WHEREAS, Citizens of Marshall demonstrate a deep commitment
- 23 to preserving their heritage, and the Ginocchio National Historic
- 24 District features one of the state's finest examples of Victorian

H.R. No. 2339

- 1 hotel architecture, the 1896 Ginocchio Hotel; the city is also the
- 2 site of the Texas and Pacific Railroad Depot Museum, the Allen
- 3 House, the Weisman Center, and the Harrison County Historical
- 4 Museum; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Declared by the city commission as the Birthplace of
- 6 Boogie Woogie, Marshall celebrates this unique distinction with a
- 7 variety of music events throughout the year; the Marshall Regional
- 8 Arts Council sponsors performances, and the Michelson Museum of
- 9 Art, the Marshall Symphony, and the Marshall Visual Art Center all
- 10 contribute to the cultural vibrancy of this remarkable East Texas
- 11 community; and
- WHEREAS, Celebrating their rich and colorful history as they
- 13 work to build a bright future, the citizens of Marshall may take
- 14 justifiable pride in the important role their town continues to
- 15 play in the story of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 17 Legislature hereby recognize April 29, 2015, as City of Marshall
- 18 Day at the State Capitol and extend to all those who are visiting
- 19 sincere best wishes for an enjoyable and informative trip to
- 20 Austin.

Paddie

## H.R. No. 2339

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Alonzo Guillen Paul Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Reynolds Bernal Hunter Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Romero, Jr. Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Dale Leach Spitzer Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Vo Farrar Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Nevárez Oliveira

Otto

Giddings

Goldman

Gonzales

Zedler

Zerwas

									H.R.	No.	2339
						Speaker of the House					
	I certify	that H.R.	No.	2339	was	adopted	by t	the	House	on	April
29, 201	5, by a no	n-record	vote.								

Chief Clerk of the House