H.R. No. 2349

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, For many years, retired educator Pauline Mouton of
- 2 Beaumont has graciously dedicated much of her time, expertise, and
- 3 energy to community service, and for this, she truly merits special
- 4 recognition; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Mrs. Mouton worked as a teacher and guidance
- 6 counselor for the Beaumont Independent School District for 32
- 7 years, retiring in 1997; she was the first African American head of
- 8 the English department at South Park High School, and she was the
- 9 first educator from the district to present a paper at a conference
- 10 of the National Council of Teachers of English in Washington, D.C.;
- 11 from 1985 to 1987, she was also an associate editor of the Journal
- 12 of the Association of Guidance and Counseling; and
- 13 WHEREAS, This dynamic and caring woman was appointed by
- 14 Governor Ann Richards to the Children's Trust Fund Council in 1992,
- 15 and that same year, she was appointed to the Prevention of Child
- 16 Abuse Council by the City of Beaumont; her other work in behalf of
- 17 children includes serving as a mentor for the foster grandparent
- 18 program at Minnie Rogers Juvenile Justice Center and as a
- 19 court-appointed special advocate; and
- WHEREAS, Mrs. Mouton further benefited her fellow citizens
- 21 as a member of the board for the Friends of Martin Luther King Jr.
- 22 Support Group of Southeast Texas and the Southeast Texas
- 23 Development Corporation, as vice chair of the Martin Luther King
- 24 Commission, and as the executive secretary and treasurer of the

H.R. No. 2349

- 1 Jefferson County Democratic Party; in 1997, she received a
- 2 commendation from the U.S. House of Representatives for her
- 3 innovative student motivation program, Bringing Up Grades and
- 4 Scores; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Mrs. Mouton's other honors include the Community
- 6 Achievers Award, the Ben Rogers and Francis Moore Racial Justice
- 7 Award, and a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Beaumont Branch of
- 8 the NAACP; in 2008, she was named Woman of the Year by the Beaumont
- 9 branch of the National Association of University Women; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Pauline Mouton has contributed to the betterment of
- 11 her community, state, and nation through a lifetime of purposeful
- 12 endeavor, and in so doing, she has set an inspiring example of
- 13 generosity and engagement for others to follow; now, therefore, be
- 14 it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 16 Legislature hereby commend Pauline Mouton for her achievements as
- 17 an educator, volunteer, and civic leader and extend to her sincere
- 18 best wishes for continued happiness; and, be it further
- 19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 20 prepared for Mrs. Mouton as an expression of high regard by the
- 21 Texas House of Representatives.

Deshotel

## H.R. No. 2349

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Alonzo Guillen Paul Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Reynolds Bernal Hunter Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Romero, Jr. Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Dale Leach Spitzer Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Vo Farrar Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Nevárez Oliveira

Otto

Giddings

Goldman

Gonzales

Zedler

Zerwas

H.R. No. 2349
Speaker of the House
adopted by the House on April

Chief Clerk of the House