H.R. No. 2356

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Trinity Christian School football team reached

2 the pinnacle of success by winning the Texas Association of Private

and Parochial Schools 3A state championship on December 6, 2014, in

4 Corsicana; and

3

5 WHEREAS, With that outstanding victory, the Tigers claimed

6 their first state championship since 1994 and completed a memorable

7 season in which they compiled an impressive overall record of 13

8 wins and just 1 defeat; bolstered by an explosive offensive attack

9 and a punishing defense, Trinity Christian outscored its opponents

10 632-148 over the course of the 2014 campaign; and

11 WHEREAS, The Tigers began their postseason run with

12 dominating victories over Lubbock Christian School and Muenster

13 Sacred Heart before clinching a berth in the title game with a 22-15

14 win over Fort Worth Temple Christian in the semifinals; facing off

15 against Bay Area Christian School in the 3A finale, Trinity

16 Christian jumped out to an early lead and took a 21-9 advantage into

17 the halftime break; the team increased its lead in a decisive third

18 quarter and closed out the contest in the fourth quarter with a

19 75-yard touchdown pass from quarterback Malachi Broadnax to wide

20 receiver Jon Cole and an interception return for a touchdown by

21 linebacker Tavione Carter; when the final seconds ticked away, the

22 players celebrated a 54-18 championship triumph; and

23 WHEREAS, In their march to the state title, the Tigers

24 received essential contributions from each member of the roster,

H.R. No. 2356

- 1 and these talented student-athletes received essential guidance
- 2 from head coach Mike Helmer, who has taken his team to the
- 3 championship final on four occasions during his tenure at Trinity
- 4 Christian; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Winning a state championship is the culmination of
- 6 countless hours of hard work and an unwavering commitment to
- 7 excellence, and Tiger players and their many supporters in the
- 8 community will treasure the memory of this outstanding
- 9 accomplishment for many years to come; now, therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby congratulate the Trinity Christian School
- 12 football team on winning the 2014 TAPPS 3A state championship and
- 13 extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best
- 14 wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 17 House of Representatives.

Giddings

H.R. No. 2356

Straus González Paddie Allen Guerra Parker Alonzo Guillen Paul Alvarado Gutierrez Peña Anchia Harless Phelan Anderson of Dallas Phillips Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Pickett Herrero Ashby Howard Price Aycock Huberty Raney Bell Hughes Raymond Reynolds Bernal Hunter Riddle Blanco Isaac Bohac Israel Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Romero, Jr. Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Rose King of Hemphill Burrows Sanford King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Schaefer Canales Schofield Schubert Capriglione Clardy Klick Shaheen Coleman Koop Sheets Collier Krause Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Smith Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smithee Leach Spitzer Dale Darby Longoria Springer Davis of Dallas Stephenson Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stickland Deshotel Márquez Thompson of Brazoria Dukes Martinez Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Tinderholt Elkins McClendon Turner of Collin Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Fallon Meyer Miles Farias VanDeaver Miller of Comal Farney Villalba Miller of Fort Bend Vo Farrar Moody Walle Fletcher Morrison White of Bell Flynn Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Frank Frullo Murphy Workman Wray Galindo Murr Naishtat Geren Wu

Nevárez Oliveira

Otto

Giddings

Gonzales

Goldman

Zedler

Zerwas

		H.R.	No.	2356
_				
	Speaker of	the H	ouse	
I certify that H.R. No. 2356 was	adopted by the	House	on .	April
29, 2015, by a non-record vote.				
_				

Chief Clerk of the House