H.R. No. 2366

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, With a unique history spanning more than 150 years,
Los Portales is one of El Paso County's cultural treasures; and

3 WHEREAS, Constructed in the 1850s by Gregorio N. Garcia, Los 4 Portales, sometimes known as Casa Garcia, was originally used as a 5 residence; "Don Gregorio" played a prominent role in the community, 6 serving as a captain of the Texas Rangers and as county judge for El 7 Paso County; his son, who bore the same name, became a justice of 8 the peace; and

9 WHEREAS, The one-story adobe brick structure has a flat roof 10 supported by cottonwood rafters; named for its distinctive inset 11 gallery, or "portal," the Territorial Style building also features 12 milled wood supports and pedimented lintels on the frames of 13 windows and doors; and

14 WHEREAS, In 1870, Mr. Garcia donated Los Portales to the town for use as a school; its first teacher, Octaviano Ambrosio 15 16 Larrazolo, went on to serve as governor of New Mexico and as a United States senator; in the late 1930s, the building was 17 converted into apartments, and it later served as offices for the 18 San Elizario Independent School District; a Recorded Texas Historic 19 20 Landmark, Los Portales is now owned by the county and operated by the San Elizario Genealogy and Historical Society as a museum and 21 information center; and 22

23 WHEREAS, The residents of the State of Texas are heirs to an 24 extraordinarily rich heritage, and Los Portales serves as an

1

H.R. No. 2366

1 important reminder of this legacy; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 3 Legislature hereby honor Los Portales and extend to all those 4 associated with the museum sincere best wishes for the future; and, 5 be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the museum as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

González

H.R. No. 2366

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2366 was adopted by the House on May 21, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House