H.R. No. 2412

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Nucor Corporation is celebrating the 40th
- 2 anniversary of its Nucor Steel--Texas plant in Jewett during 2015;
- 3 and
- WHEREAS, Established in 1975, the Jewett facility was one of
- 5 the first electric arc furnace plants in the United States; the
- 6 electric arc process for melting and recycling scrap steel is more
- 7 cost-effective than integrated iron and steel production with blast
- 8 furnaces, and it significantly reduces pollution; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Nucor was an industry leader in the shift from
- 10 refining to recycling as the primary source of steel, and today, it
- 11 is the nation's largest steel producer and largest recycler,
- 12 handling approximately 19 million tons of scrap metal each year; on
- 13 an annual basis, its three Texas divisions have a recycling
- 14 capacity of 1.5 million tons of steel and a production capacity of
- more than 1.6 million tons; the company employs approximately 1,100
- 16 Texans at these plants; and
- WHEREAS, In 2010, the Nucor divisions in Jewett, Terrell, and
- 18 Grapeland were awarded OSHA Voluntary Protection Program Star
- 19 Status from the federal Occupational Safety and Health
- 20 Administration; moreover, Nucor Steel--Texas earned a Texas
- 21 Environmental Excellence Award for its efforts in resource
- 22 conservation, waste reduction, and pollution prevention; and
- 23 WHEREAS, Nucor Steel--Texas has contributed significantly to
- 24 the prosperity of Jewett over the past four decades, and it is

H.R. No. 2412

- 1 indeed fitting to recognize this milestone in the history of the
- 2 company; now, therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby congratulate Nucor Corporation on the 40th
- 5 anniversary of its Nucor Steel--Texas plant in Jewett and extend to
- 6 all those associated with the company sincere best wishes for
- 7 continued success; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for the company as an expression of high regard by the
- 10 Texas House of Representatives.

Ashby

H.R. No. 2412

Straus González Otto Allen Guerra Paddie Alonzo Parker Guillen Alvarado Gutierrez Paul Anchia Harless Peña Anderson of Dallas Phelan Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Phillips Herrero Ashby Howard Pickett Aycock Huberty Price Bell Hughes Raney Bernal Raymond Hunter Blanco Isaac Reynolds Bohac Israel Riddle Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Rinaldi Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Romero, Jr. King of Hemphill Burrows Rose King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Sanford Canales Schaefer Schofield Capriglione Clardy Klick Schubert Coleman Koop Shaheen Collier Krause Sheets Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smith Leach Smithee Dale Darby Longoria Spitzer Davis of Dallas Springer Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stephenson Deshotel Márquez Stickland Dukes Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Elkins McClendon Tinderholt Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Fallon Meyer Miles Turner of Tarrant Farias Miller of Comal Farney VanDeaver Miller of Fort Bend Villalba Farrar Minjarez Vo Fletcher Moody Walle Flynn White of Bell White of Tyler Frank Morrison Frullo Muñoz, Jr. Galindo Workman Murphy Geren Murr Wray Giddings Naishtat Wıı

Nevárez

Oliveira

Goldman

Gonzales

Zedler

Zerwas

	H.R. No. 2412
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 2412 vectors, by a non-record vote.	was adopted by the House on May 6,
	Chief Clerk of the House