H.R. No. 2507

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dr. Cesar A. Arias of Bellaire, a researcher at The

University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, has been

3 elected to the American Society for Clinical Investigation; and

4 WHEREAS, One of the oldest and most recognized medical honor

5 societies in the United States, the American Society for Clinical

6 Investigation is composed of more than 3,000 physician-scientists

7 who are inducted into the organization for their scholarly

8 achievements in biomedical research; and

2

9 WHEREAS, An associate professor in the Division of Infectious

10 Diseases at The University of Texas Health Science Center,

11 Dr. Arias has focused his research on antibiotic-resistant strains

12 of bacteria known as superbugs, which infect and kill approximately

13 23,000 Americans each year; in addition to his work at UTHealth, he

14 serves as director of the Molecular Genetics and Antimicrobial

15 Resistance Unit at Universidad El Bosque in Colombia, South

16 America, and on the medical staffs of Lyndon B. Johnson Hospital

17 and Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center in Houston; and

18 WHEREAS, Dr. Cesar Arias is contributing greatly to the

19 advancement of research in a field of study with wide implications

20 for public health, and this prestigious recognition reflects the

21 high esteem in which he is held by his peers in the academic medical

22 community; now, therefore, be it

23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas

24 Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. Cesar A. Arias on his election

H.R. No. 2507

- 1 to the American Society for Clinical Investigation and extend to
- 2 him sincere best wishes for continued success with his important
- 3 work; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Dr. Arias as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Davis of Harris

H.R. No. 2507

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2507 was adopted by the House on May 21, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House