RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The citizens of Corpus Christi lost an admired
- 2 public servant with the untimely death of Corpus Christi Chief of
- 3 Police Floyd D. Simpson on May 3, 2015, at the age of 51; and
- WHEREAS, Born in Chicago on September 19, 1963, Floyd Simpson
- 5 earned a bachelor's degree from Western Illinois University and a
- 6 master's degree in business administration from Amber University;
- 7 he was also a graduate of the Police Executive Research Forum Senior
- 8 Management Institute, the FBI National Academy, and the Law
- 9 Enforcement Management Institute of Texas; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Before taking charge of the department in Corpus
- 11 Christi, Chief Simpson served more than 25 years with the Dallas
- 12 Police Department, where his duties included management of the
- 13 patrol and administration bureaus as well as oversight of the
- 14 department's police academies and hiring process; he retired in
- 15 2012, at the rank of assistant chief; and
- WHEREAS, On March 12, 2012, this veteran law enforcement
- 17 professional became the 22nd chief of police in Corpus Christi, and
- 18 the first African American to lead the department; under his
- 19 leadership, crime in the city decreased for three consecutive years
- 20 and traffic-related fatalities were the lowest in two decades; he
- 21 worked to ensure transparency in police matters, and he was also
- 22 making great strides in his commitment to bolster department pride,
- 23 instituting official ceremonies for officers receiving promotions
- 24 and other department activities; and

H.R. No. 2512

1 WHEREAS, In addition to his professional duties, Chief Simpson was engaged in civic affairs as well; he organized a charity 2 3 motorcycle ride in Dallas with his riding club, the Iron Knights, to raise money for children with sickle cell anemia; an avid runner 4 5 with four marathons to his credit, he was also a member of the executive committee of the Special Olympics Texas Law Enforcement 6 7 Torch Run; in 2013, he received the President's Award from the NAACP 8 at the 43rd annual Martin Luther King Jr. Freedom Fund Banquet; and 9 WHEREAS, Mr. Simpson shared 27 rewarding years with his wife, Tanya, and he was a devoted father to his four children, Amber, 10 11 Lauren, Journee, and Jaylen; and WHEREAS, Although he had only been in Corpus Christi for 12 three years, Chief Simpson quickly made a name for himself in the 13 14 community, earning the admiration and affection of a great many 15 people and implementing a vision for the department that will continue to resonate for years to come; now, therefore, be it 16 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Corpus Christi Chief 18 of Police Floyd D. Simpson and extend sincere condolences to the 19 members of his family: to his wife, Tanya Simpson; to his children, 20 Amber Simpson, Lauren Simpson, Journee Simpson, and Jaylen Little; 21 and to his other relatives and friends; and, be it further 22

H.R. No. 2512

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Floyd Simpson.

Herrero Hunter Meyer

H.R. No. 2512

Straus González Otto Allen Guerra Paddie Parker Alonzo Guillen Alvarado Gutierrez Paul Anchia Harless Peña Anderson of Dallas Phelan Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Phillips Herrero Ashby Howard Pickett Aycock Huberty Price Bell Hughes Raney Raymond Bernal Hunter Blanco Isaac Reynolds Bohac Israel Riddle Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Rinaldi Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Romero, Jr. King of Hemphill Burrows Rose King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Sanford Canales Schaefer Schofield Capriglione Clardy Klick Schubert Coleman Koop Shaheen Collier Krause Sheets Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smith Leach Smithee Dale Darby Longoria Spitzer Davis of Dallas Springer Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stephenson Deshotel Márquez Stickland Dukes Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Elkins McClendon Tinderholt Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Fallon Meyer Miles Turner of Tarrant Farias Miller of Comal Farney VanDeaver Miller of Fort Bend Villalba Farrar Minjarez Vo Fletcher Moody Walle Flynn White of Bell White of Tyler Frank Morrison Frullo Muñoz, Jr. Galindo Workman Murphy Geren Murr Wray Giddings Naishtat Wıı

Nevárez

Oliveira

Goldman

Gonzales

Zedler

Zerwas

	H.R. No. 2512
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 2512 was	unanimously adopted by a rising
vote of the House on May 6, 2015.	
	Chief Clerk of the House