H.R. No. 2528

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Poncho Garcia Jr., superintendent of Fabens
- 2 Independent School District, can take well-deserved pride in the
- 3 outstanding service he has rendered in behalf of residents of the
- 4 Lone Star State during his 40 years in the Texas public education
- 5 system; and
- 6 WHEREAS, In a job that requires the support of the public and
- 7 effective collaboration with the local school board,
- 8 Superintendent Garcia has worked tirelessly to ensure the best
- 9 possible instruction and resources for pupils in his district and
- 10 has promoted academic achievement to advance the quality of the
- 11 district's schools; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Prior to becoming superintendent of Fabens ISD,
- 13 Mr. Garcia was a teacher, coach, counselor, and principal; he is a
- 14 navy veteran and holds a master's degree and a certification in
- 15 superintendency from Sul Ross State University; and
- WHEREAS, In all of his endeavors, Mr. Garcia enjoys the love
- 17 and support of a family that includes his wife, Rosa, his son,
- 18 Jason, his daughter-in-law, Isela, and his granddaughter, Issa Jay;
- 19 and
- WHEREAS, Through his unwavering dedication to Fabens ISD
- 21 students and staff, Poncho Garcia Jr. has led the way in fostering
- 22 an encouraging and challenging learning environment, one that
- 23 equips students with skills that will help them to build fulfilling
- 24 and productive lives; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 2528

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th
- 2 Legislature hereby commend Poncho Garcia Jr., superintendent of
- 3 Fabens Independent School District, for his achievements as an
- 4 educator and administrator and extend to him sincere best wishes
- 5 for continued success; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Superintendent Garcia as an expression of high regard
- 8 by the Texas House of Representatives.

González

H.R. No. 2528

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2528 was adopted by the House on May 21, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House