H.R. No. 2553

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Texas Electric Cooperatives and its member
- 2 organizations are celebrating 50 years of sending young adults to
- 3 Washington, D.C., as part of the Government-in-Action Youth Tour;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, These outstanding students, selected by the member
- 6 cooperatives, spend a week touring national historic sites,
- 7 discovering Washington's diverse cultural heritage, meeting
- 8 U.S. congressional representatives, and learning about electric
- 9 cooperatives and the energy industry; and
- 10 WHEREAS, In 1965, 58 young men and women became the first
- 11 Texas Electric Cooperatives group to travel to Washington, where
- 12 they joined their peers from other states on the Youth Tour; since
- 13 then, a total of 3,719 Texans have completed the
- 14 Government-in-Action Youth Tour; the 125 teens making the trip this
- 15 year will start with a day in Austin to gain a deeper understanding
- 16 of Texas history and government; and
- WHEREAS, Each year, participants in the Government-in-Action
- 18 Youth Tour enjoy cultural and educational experiences that make the
- 19 week truly transformational, and Texas Electric Cooperatives and
- 20 its members are indeed deserving of recognition for providing this
- 21 remarkable opportunity to the future leaders of the Lone Star
- 22 State; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby honor Texas Electric Cooperatives for its 50

H.R. No. 2553

- 1 years of participation in the Government-in-Action Youth Tour and
- 2 extend to the member cooperatives and all those taking part in the
- 3 tour sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Texas Electric Cooperatives as an expression of high
- 6 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Landgraf

## H.R. No. 2553

Straus González Otto Allen Guerra Paddie Alonzo Parker Guillen Alvarado Gutierrez Paul Anchia Harless Peña Anderson of Dallas Phelan Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Phillips Herrero Ashby Howard Pickett Aycock Huberty Price Bell Hughes Raney Bernal Raymond Hunter Blanco Isaac Reynolds Bohac Israel Riddle Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Rinaldi Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Romero, Jr. King of Hemphill Burrows Rose King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Sanford Canales Schaefer Schofield Capriglione Clardy Klick Schubert Coleman Koop Shaheen Collier Krause Sheets Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smith Leach Smithee Dale Darby Longoria Spitzer Davis of Dallas Springer Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stephenson Deshotel Márquez Stickland Dukes Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Elkins McClendon Tinderholt Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Fallon Meyer Miles Turner of Tarrant Farias Miller of Comal Farney VanDeaver Miller of Fort Bend Villalba Farrar Minjarez Vo Fletcher Moody Walle Flynn White of Bell White of Tyler Frank Morrison Frullo Muñoz, Jr. Galindo Workman Murphy Geren Murr Wray Giddings Naishtat Wıı

Nevárez

Oliveira

Goldman

Gonzales

Zedler

Zerwas

|                                  | H.R. No. 2553                   |
|----------------------------------|---------------------------------|
|                                  |                                 |
|                                  | Speaker of the House            |
| I certify that H.R. No. 2553 was | adopted by the House on May 20, |
| 2015, by a non-record vote.      |                                 |
|                                  |                                 |

Chief Clerk of the House