By: Turner of Tarrant

H.R. No. 2555

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Arlington Independent School District is 2 celebrating the dedication of Diane Patrick Elementary School in 3 the fall of 2015; and

WHEREAS, Transforming the nature of instruction, this 18-acre campus offers students outdoor and collaborative learning spaces, a 21st-century media center, a broadcasting studio, and the first two STEM labs in an Arlington ISD elementary school; and

8 WHEREAS, The opening ceremony provides an ideal opportunity 9 to recognize the school's namesake, educator and former state 10 representative Dr. Diane Patrick; a veteran teacher, Dr. Patrick 11 currently serves on the faculty of the Department of Educational 12 Leadership and Policy Studies at The University of Texas at 13 Arlington; she also teaches at Dallas Baptist University, and she 14 has taught at Texas Christian University as well; and

15 WHEREAS, Early in her career, Dr. Patrick served as an 16 elementary teacher in the Waco, Richardson, and Birdville 17 Independent School Districts; she subsequently became director of 18 educational programs at two psychiatric hospitals; she holds a 19 bachelor's degree in education from Baylor University and both a 20 master's degree in elementary education and a doctoral degree in 21 educational administration from the University of North Texas; and

22 WHEREAS, Dr. Patrick has worked tirelessly in behalf of the 23 state's students in numerous capacities; following an 11-year 24 tenure on the Arlington ISD Board of Trustees, during which time she

1

1 served four years as president, she won election to the Texas State 2 Board of Education in 1992; she currently serves as a director of 3 the Arlington ISD Education Foundation and the Texas Education 4 Reform Foundation, and she has given generously of her expertise to 5 the Texas Center for Educational Research Advisory Board and the 6 Consortium of State Organizations of Texas Teacher Educators; and

H.R. No. 2555

7 WHEREAS, First elected to the Texas House in 2006, 8 Dr. Patrick greatly benefited public education through her accomplishments over the course of four terms in the legislature; 9 10 she served as vice chair of the Higher Education Committee, where she was a champion for UT--Arlington, and she authored numerous 11 12 pieces of significant legislation, including the state's first 13 comprehensive anti-bullying bill and bills providing for 14 developmental education reform, increased transparency in higher 15 education, and improved educator preparation; she was regarded by fellow legislators as one of the foremost experts on public and 16 17 higher education in Texas government; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Patrick has also committed her time and talents to advancing a host of worthy causes and organizations within her community; she is a Junior League Sustainer and a member of the Downtown Rotary Club, and she has served as county co-chair of the March of Dimes and as a member of the Children's Advocacy Network board, the Downtown Arlington Rotary Club, the Junior League of Arlington, and the Arlington Republican Club; and

25 WHEREAS, Named to the Legislative Honor Roll by the Texas 26 Parent Teacher Association, Dr. Patrick is the recipient of myriad 27 other accolades, among them the Lone Star Conservative Leader Award

2

from the Texas Conservative Roundtable, the Excellence in Public
Service Award from the Texas Hospital Association, and the Patient
Advocacy Award from the Texas Dental Association; and

H.R. No. 2555

WHEREAS, In all her endeavors, Diane Patrick is supported by the love and encouragement of her husband, Dr. Ned Patrick; she is the proud mother of two Arlington ISD graduates, and she recently celebrated the arrival of her seventh grandchild; and

8 WHEREAS, Diane Patrick has advanced the quality of education 9 in Arlington and the Lone Star State through her ceaseless 10 endeavors as an educator and public servant, and the naming of a 11 school in her honor is truly a fitting tribute; now, therefore, be 12 it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas Legislature hereby recognize Dr. Diane Patrick on the occasion of the dedication of Diane Patrick Elementary School and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success in her important work; and, be it further

18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 19 prepared for Dr. Patrick as an expression of high regard by the 20 Texas House of Representatives.

3