H.R. No. 2677

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The end of an era in Texas journalism has come with
- 2 the retirement of Paul Burka from Texas Monthly magazine in March
- 3 2015; and
- WHEREAS, Born in Galveston, Mr. Burka earned a bachelor's
- 5 degree in history from Rice University and a law degree from The
- 6 University of Texas at Austin; he was accepted to the State Bar of
- 7 Texas, and he began his career as an attorney with the Texas
- 8 Legislature, where, as counsel to the Senate Natural Resources
- 9 Committee, he was able to closely observe state legislators in
- 10 their native habitat; and
- 11 WHEREAS, In March 1974, Mr. Burka submitted a Texas-themed
- 12 limerick puzzle to a new periodical called Texas Monthly, and the
- 13 following month he published his first story for the magazine,
- 14 earning \$75 for a piece about the old baseball stadium at The
- 15 University of Texas; on October 1, 1974, he switched careers and
- 16 joined the magazine's staff full-time, working out of its original
- 17 offices at 15th and Guadalupe in downtown Austin; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Burka quickly became one of the magazine's
- 19 signature writers, crafting stylish and well-researched articles
- 20 about Texas barbecue, the Big Bend region, the Houston Astros, the
- 21 Southwest Conference, and noteworthy Texas authors; he won a
- 22 National Magazine Award for a two-part story on the oil tycoon
- 23 Clinton Menges in 1985, and he also won acclaim for his profile of
- 24 John Connally, a cover story calling the Chevy Suburban the

- H.R. No. 2677
- 1 "National Car of Texas," an insightful article about the struggles
- 2 of a ranching family in Uvalde, and a moving piece about the Texas
- 3 A&M bonfire tragedy; and
- WHEREAS, In addition, Mr. Burka has served the magazine and
- 5 its readers as a skilled editor of the work of other reporters, and
- 6 he has been a mentor and an inspiration to younger writers; and
- WHEREAS, Above all, Mr. Burka has been, for many years, one
- 8 of the most knowledgeable, experienced, and influential
- 9 commentators on Texas politics, sharing his encyclopedic knowledge
- 10 of the Texas Legislature and its colorful history with the readers
- 11 of Texas Monthly and the popular Burka Blog, which he started in
- 12 2006, and to which he will occasionally continue to contribute; he
- 13 has also regularly explained the ways of Texas and Texans to the
- 14 viewers of Fox, MSNBC, NBC, and CNN, and he has inspired both fear
- 15 and delight in legislators as one of the creators of the magazine's
- 16 annual list of the 10 best and 10 worst legislators; and
- WHEREAS, For more than 40 years, this brilliant reporter and
- 18 commentator has informed and enlightened readers of all political
- 19 persuasions with his deep and affectionate understanding of the
- 20 Lone Star State, and he may indeed take pride in the respect with
- 21 which he is regarded by generations of his fellow Texans; now,
- 22 therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate Paul Burka on his retirement from
- 25 Texas Monthly and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued
- 26 success and happiness; and, be it further
- 27 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

H.R. No. 2677

- 1  $\,$  prepared for Mr. Burka as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 2 House of Representatives.

Raymond

## H.R. No. 2677

Straus González Otto Allen Guerra Paddie Parker Alonzo Guillen Alvarado Gutierrez Paul Anchia Harless Peña Anderson of Dallas Phelan Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Phillips Herrero Ashby Howard Pickett Aycock Huberty Price Bell Hughes Raney Raymond Bernal Hunter Blanco Isaac Reynolds Bohac Israel Riddle Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Rinaldi Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Romero, Jr. King of Hemphill Burrows Rose King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Sanford Canales Schaefer Schofield Capriglione Clardy Klick Schubert Coleman Koop Shaheen Collier Krause Sheets Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smith Leach Smithee Dale Darby Longoria Spitzer Davis of Dallas Springer Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stephenson Deshotel Márquez Stickland Dukes Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Elkins McClendon Tinderholt Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Fallon Meyer Miles Turner of Tarrant Farias Miller of Comal Farney VanDeaver Miller of Fort Bend Villalba Farrar Minjarez Vo Fletcher Moody Walle Flynn White of Bell White of Tyler Frank Morrison Frullo Muñoz, Jr. Galindo Workman Murphy Geren Murr Wray Giddings Naishtat Wıı

Nevárez

Oliveira

Goldman

Gonzales

Zedler

Zerwas

	H.R. NO. 26//
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 2677 was	s adopted by the House on May 19,
2015, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House