H.R. No. 2689

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Lone Star State is enriched immeasurably by the 2 tapestry of cultures that have shared in its development and 3 history; and

WHEREAS, Texas is home to the third-largest Asian American community in the United States, and Texans of Asian and Pacific Islander heritage have made invaluable contributions to the social, cultural, economic, educational, scientific, and intellectual life of our state; and

9 WHEREAS, The Network of Asian American Organizations is an 10 Austin-based alliance of 15 member organizations dedicated to 11 promoting civic, cultural, charitable, and educational programs 12 and encouraging greater participation by Asian Americans in public 13 affairs; and

WHEREAS, Joining the NAAO in its mission is the Indian American Coalition of Texas, a nonpartisan group that fosters civic and political involvement among Indian Americans in Greater Austin through three initiatives--educate, engage, and empower--while also addressing the issues and concerns common to all area residents; and

20 WHEREAS, The observance of May as Asian and Pacific Islander 21 Heritage Month offers a fitting time to reflect on the many 22 achievements realized by individuals who trace their heritage to 23 Asia and the Pacific Islands and to acknowledge and support their 24 ongoing role in building a prosperous future for our state and

1

H.R. No. 2689

1 nation; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 3 Legislature hereby recognize May 13, 2015, as Texas Asian and 4 Pacific Islander Day of Civic Engagement and extend sincere best 5 wishes to the organizations and individuals taking part in this 6 event.

> Naishtat Workman

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 2689

H.R. No. 2689

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2689 was adopted by the House on May 13, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House