H.R. No. 2690

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Amber Rhodes, a sophomore at Live Oak Classical
- 2 School in Waco, was named a 2015 Texas All-State Choir member by the
- 3 Texas Music Educators Association; and
- WHEREAS, The TMEA All-State designation is the highest
- 5 accolade that a Texas music student can earn; more than 60,000 young
- 6 people from across the state compete each year for a place in one of
- 7 15 All-State bands, orchestras, and choirs; those who are selected
- 8 for one of the ensembles are among the top one percent of high
- 9 school musicians in the Lone Star State and are invited to attend
- 10 the annual TMEA convention in San Antonio, where they participate
- 11 in three days of intense rehearsals and perform a concert under the
- 12 direction of a nationally recognized conductor; and
- WHEREAS, The first Live Oak student to be part of an All-State
- 14 Choir, Ms. Rhodes was chosen as a first-chair alto from the Area D
- 15 small school division; she has received valuable guidance from TMEA
- 16 member Nate Hutcherson and choir director Rebekah Zeek, and in all
- 17 her endeavors she enjoys the love and support of her parents, Brett
- 18 and Grace Rhodes; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Through countless hours of preparation and an
- 20 unwavering commitment to excellence, this gifted young Texan has
- 21 earned a place among the state's elite high school choral members,
- 22 and she may indeed take great pride in her outstanding achievement;
- 23 now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas

H.R. No. 2690

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Amber Rhodes on her selection as a
- 2 2015 Texas All-State Choir member and extend to her sincere best
- 3 wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Ms. Rhodes as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Anderson of McLennan

H.R. No. 2690

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2690 was adopted by the House on May 21, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House