RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dr. Patricia K. Allen is retiring as principal of 2 Henry F. MacGregor Elementary School on August 31, 2015, after 35 years of outstanding service to the Houston Independent School 3 District; and 4 5 WHEREAS, This esteemed educator began her career in 1980, when she became a fifth-grade teacher at Lockhart Elementary School 6 7 in Houston; after two years, she transferred to MacGregor Elementary School, where she took on such leadership roles as 8 9 Chapter I faculty leader, School Area II representative, and

10 administrative intern; she then accepted a position at Thompson 11 Elementary School, and while serving on the faculty there, she

if Elementary School, and while serving on the faculty there, she

12 founded the Charmette Girl's Club and directed the Drum Corps; she

13 went on to train area elementary teachers for several years in the

14 Project Charlie Character Education Program; and WHEREAS, In 1995, Dr. Allen returned to MacGregor Elementary 15 16 magnet coordinator; she also served as coordinator, gifted and talented coordinator, bond coordinator, 17 instructional coordinator, and chair of the Shared Decision Making 18 Committee; furthermore, she acted as the school's business liaison 19 20 and fostered relationships with a number of notable organizations, 21 including the Houston Rockets, PricewaterhouseCoopers, and the Judson Robinson Jr. Community Center; she was promoted to principal 22 23 in 2006, and under her expert guidance, the school has earned the

"Met Standards" rating and five Distinctions; and

24

H.R. No. 2693

- 1 WHEREAS, Respected and admired by her colleagues, Dr. Allen
- 2 was named Outstanding Young Educator at Lockhart Elementary in
- 3 1981, and she received a nomination for Teacher of the Year at
- 4 MacGregor Elementary in 1985; while fulfilling her professional
- 5 duties, she also continued her own academic pursuits, earning a
- 6 master's degree in administration and a doctorate in curriculum and
- 7 instruction from the University of Houston; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Through her consummate professionalism and
- 9 commitment to excellence, Patricia Allen has helped equip area
- 10 children with the knowledge and skills necessary to build a bright
- 11 and rewarding future, and in so doing, she has touched the lives of
- 12 countless young Texans; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 14 Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. Patricia K. Allen on her
- 15 retirement as principal of Henry F. MacGregor Elementary School and
- 16 extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success and
- 17 happiness; and, be it further
- 18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 19 prepared for Dr. Allen as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 20 House of Representatives.

Allen

H.R. No. 2693

Straus González Otto Allen Guerra Paddie Alonzo Parker Guillen Alvarado Gutierrez Paul Anchia Harless Peña Anderson of Dallas Phelan Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Phillips Herrero Ashby Howard Pickett Aycock Huberty Price Bell Hughes Raney Bernal Raymond Hunter Blanco Isaac Reynolds Bohac Israel Riddle Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Rinaldi Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Romero, Jr. King of Hemphill Burrows Rose King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Sanford Canales Schaefer Schofield Capriglione Clardy Klick Schubert Coleman Koop Shaheen Collier Krause Sheets Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smith Leach Smithee Dale Darby Longoria Spitzer Davis of Dallas Springer Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stephenson Deshotel Márquez Stickland Dukes Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Elkins McClendon Tinderholt Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Fallon Meyer Miles Turner of Tarrant Farias Miller of Comal Farney VanDeaver Miller of Fort Bend Villalba Farrar Minjarez Vo Fletcher Moody Walle Flynn White of Bell White of Tyler Frank Morrison Frullo Muñoz, Jr. Galindo Workman Murphy Geren Murr Wray Giddings Naishtat Wıı

Nevárez

Oliveira

Goldman

Gonzales

Zedler

Zerwas

	H.R. No. 2693
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 2693 wa	as adopted by the House on May 13,
2015, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House