By: Anderson of McLennan

H.R. No. 2792

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Robinson High School boys' powerlifting team 2 distinguished itself by winning the Texas High School Powerlifting 3 Association Region 2 Division 2 championship on March 7, 2015; and

WHEREAS, Facing off against 25 other teams, the Rockets reached the top spot in close competition, besting the Navasota High School Rattlers by one point; this marks the second time in three years that the Robinson squad has won the regional championship; and

9 WHEREAS, Lifters who qualified for the state championship 10 with second-place finishes include Michael Bartlett in the 11 132-pound weight class, Manuel Rodriguez in 148, Juan Villa in 181, 12 Ricky Thompson in 198, and Gustavo Bonilla in 275; with a 13 third-place showing in the 181-pound weight class, Jordan Thompson 14 was named a state alternate; and

15 WHEREAS, Important contributions were also made by the other 16 members of the Robinson team, with Cory Sauer placing sixth in the 17 148-pound weight class and Larry Reid taking eighth place in 181; 18 moreover, Jacob Dorton and Diego Gutierrez placed seventh and 19 eighth, respectively, in the 220-pound weight class, Tanner Smith 20 took eighth place in the Super Heavyweight class, and Philip Sharp 21 was among the 114-pound contenders; and

22 WHEREAS, With their exemplary efforts, these talented 23 student-athletes have added to the Robinson High School tradition 24 of athletic excellence, and they may take great pride in the skill

1

1 and dedication they have demonstrated throughout the season; now, 2 therefore, be it

H.R. No. 2792

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the Robinson High School boys' powerlifting team on winning the THSPA Region 2 Division 2 championship and extend to the team's lifters and coaches sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 10 House of Representatives.

2