## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Outgoing members of the Dallas City Council are
- 2 visiting the State Capitol on May 14, 2015, and this occasion
- 3 provides an ideal opportunity to recognize them for their
- 4 distinguished public service; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Due to term limits, council members Tennell Atkins,
- 6 Sheffie Kadane, Vonciel Jones Hill, Jerry Allen, Dwaine Caraway,
- 7 and Carolyn Davis are all completing their tenures on June 22, 2015;
- 8 they have worked together on numerous important issues and
- 9 initiatives over the past eight years, including the Dallas Arts
- 10 District, the streetcar to Oak Cliff, the modernization of Love
- 11 Field, and the Trinity River Corridor Project; moreover, under
- 12 their leadership, the city has enjoyed its lowest crime rate in
- 13 decades; and
- WHEREAS, Tennell Atkins, who represents District 8, serves as
- 15 mayor pro tem, as chair of the Economic Development Committee, and
- 16 as vice chair of the Budget, Finance, and Audit Committee;
- 17 moreover, he shares his business expertise with several other
- 18 committees; and
- 19 WHEREAS, The District 9 representative, Sheffie Kadane, has
- 20 chaired the Public Safety Committee, and he has partnered with the
- 21 Northeast Station of the Dallas Police Department to reduce area
- 22 crime; in addition, he collaborated with the North Central Texas
- 23 Council of Governments to secure funds for the Garland Road Vision
- 24 Study; and

- 1 WHEREAS, A former assistant city attorney and municipal court
- 2 judge and now council member for District 5, Vonciel Jones Hill
- 3 chairs the Transportation and Trinity River Project Committee; she
- 4 received the Pleasant Grove Sector Best Public Official Award in
- 5 2009, and she was also honored by the Southeast Dallas Business and
- 6 Professional Women's Club that same year; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Jerry Allen, the District 10 representative, has
- 8 chaired the Budget, Finance, and Audit Committee since 2009, and he
- 9 has served on a host of other committees; he worked tirelessly to
- 10 secure passage of the Pay Day Lending Ordinance, which took effect
- 11 in 2011, and persuaded other cities across the state to adopt
- 12 similar ordinances; and
- 13 WHEREAS, Formerly mayor of Dallas, Dwaine Caraway, of
- 14 District 4, has long been a staunch supporter of municipal
- 15 employees and Dallas Area Rapid Transit personnel, and he has
- 16 advocated for business investment and the construction of the
- 17 convention center hotel; he has been instrumental in closing down
- 18 crime-plagued motels and drug houses in South Dallas and Oak Cliff;
- 19 and
- WHEREAS, Council member Carolyn Davis, the representative
- 21 for District 7, serves on the task force on single-family housing
- 22 standards, as well as on the boards of a number of community
- 23 organizations, among them the African American Museum of Dallas;
- 24 she is a recipient of the Allstate Community Service Award; and
- 25 WHEREAS, Through their skill, dedication, and
- 26 professionalism, these esteemed public servants have contributed
- 27 significantly to the betterment of the city of Dallas, and they may

- 1 indeed reflect with pride on their accomplishments; now, therefore,
- 2 be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby honor the outgoing members of the Dallas City
- 5 Council for their exemplary service and extend to them sincere best
- 6 wishes for continued success in their future endeavors; and, be it
- 7 further
- 8 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 9 for the council members as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 10 House of Representatives.

Giddings

Straus González Otto Allen Guerra Paddie Alonzo Parker Guillen Alvarado Gutierrez Paul Anchia Harless Peña Anderson of Dallas Phelan Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Phillips Herrero Ashby Howard Pickett Aycock Huberty Price Bell Hughes Raney Raymond Bernal Hunter Blanco Isaac Reynolds Bohac Israel Riddle Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Rinaldi Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Romero, Jr. King of Hemphill Burrows Rose King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Sanford Canales Schaefer Schofield Capriglione Clardy Klick Schubert Coleman Koop Shaheen Collier Krause Sheets Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smith Leach Smithee Dale Darby Longoria Spitzer Davis of Dallas Springer Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stephenson Deshotel Márquez Stickland Dukes Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Elkins McClendon Tinderholt Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Fallon Meyer Miles Turner of Tarrant Farias Miller of Comal Farney VanDeaver Miller of Fort Bend Villalba Farrar Minjarez Vo Fletcher Moody Walle Flynn White of Bell White of Tyler Frank Morrison Frullo Muñoz, Jr. Galindo Workman Murphy Geren Murr Wray Giddings Naishtat Wıı

Nevárez

Oliveira

Goldman

Gonzales

Zedler

Zerwas

Speaker of the House	
pted by the House on May	14,

I certify that H.R. No. 2798 was adopted by the House on May 14 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House