H.R. No. 2799

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Leroy Goodson is retiring as general manager of the 2 Texas Water Conservation Association at the end of 2015, concluding 3 an exemplary career with the organization that has spanned more 4 than three decades; and

5 WHEREAS, Throughout his tenure, Mr. Goodson has guided the 6 organization with exceptional vision, skill, and dedication; he has 7 made it an effective voice for its members and an effective partner 8 in determining public policy regarding water in Texas and the 9 United States; a true consensus builder, he has fostered 10 cooperation among varied and sometimes competing interests; and

11 WHEREAS, Mr. Goodson was instrumental in the creation of the 12 TWCA Risk Management Fund, and he is founding board secretary; through the years, he has worked tirelessly to expand the fund's 13 14 membership, which today encompasses every kind of water district in the state; member equity totals nearly \$18 million, and he has 15 assisted in developing such innovative member services as loss 16 control and risk management consulting, leadership training, and 17 legal consulting; and 18

WHEREAS, Deeply committed to sound resource management, Mr. Goodson has also served as executive secretary of the Texas Ground Water Association for 33 years, helping its membership grow from about 300 to more than 1,500; he implemented continuing education courses for licensees in the water well business, and he has crisscrossed the state conducting dozens of classes annually;

1

H.R. No. 2799

1 moreover, he has served the National Ground Water Association in 2 many capacities, among them chair of the Affiliate States Committee 3 and parliamentarian of the Delegates Meeting; he received the NGWA 4 Life Member Award in 2012, and his many accolades further include a 5 TGWA lifetime membership and the TWCA President's Award; and

6 WHEREAS, This dynamic Texan has strengthened bonds in 7 professional circles through his warmth, generosity, and legendary 8 sense of humor, as well as his passion for water issues; on many 9 long road trips with his coworkers, he has shared his vast knowledge 10 of people and places and provided spontaneous tutorials on various 11 aspects of agribusiness; and

WHEREAS, Members of the water resource community will deeply miss his wisdom and incomparable conviviality, but Leroy Goodson's accomplishments ensure that the TWCA is well prepared to move forward following his retirement, and he leaves a treasure trove of stories and "Leroy-isms" to be enjoyed for years to come; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 19 Legislature hereby honor Leroy Goodson for his achievements as 20 general manager of the Texas Water Conservation Association and 21 extend to him sincere best wishes as he prepares to embark on the 22 next exciting chapter of his life; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Mr. Goodson as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Miller of Comal

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

## H.R. No. 2799

H.R. No. 2799

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2799 was adopted by the House on May 20, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House