H.R. No. 2817

By: Hughes

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The year 2015 marks the 35th anniversary of the 2 founding of Young Conservatives of Texas, and the Texas Senate is 3 pleased to recognize this significant milestone in the 4 organization's history; and

5 WHEREAS, A group of 177 students met in Austin at the Stephen 6 F. Austin Hotel on Texas Independence Day, March 2, 1980, to 7 establish Young Conservatives of Texas; and

8 WHEREAS, A nonpartisan and independent youth organization, 9 Young Conservatives of Texas was founded to attract students who 10 believe in a conservative philosophy of government and to afford 11 those students the opportunity to participate effectively in the 12 political process; and

WHEREAS, YCT is dedicated to promoting its Statement of 13 14 Principles, including the beliefs that the Constitution was instituted for the protection of God-given rights, that 15 the American system of Federalism, describing limited government and 16 state sovereignty, serves to protect those rights, that economic 17 freedom and the free enterprise system are essential to liberty, 18 and that the aim of American foreign policy should be the protection 19 20 of the freedom of the American people; and

21 WHEREAS, For three and a half decades, YCT has served as a 22 strong force on college campuses throughout the state, regularly 23 hosting speakers and events representing a wide range of 24 conservative thought; and

1

H.R. No. 2817

1 WHEREAS, The organization is well known for inspiring young 2 people in our state to become involved in politics, for maintaining 3 an active presence as a lobby at the Texas Legislature, and for 4 placing alumni in all levels of government and public policy, 5 including the Texas Legislature and Congress; and

6 WHEREAS, YCT also maintains a long running and respected set 7 of legislative ratings that assess the actions of members of the 8 Texas Legislature according to their adherence to conservative 9 principles; and

WHEREAS, The group successfully advocates for conservative candidates during both primary and general elections, through block walking, phone banks, straw polls, and contributions through its political action committee; moreover, YCT was instrumental in the election of both Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick and Attorney General Ken Paxton during the past election cycle; and

WHEREAS, YCT has benefited from the dedicated leadership of 16 17 23 state chairmen: Steve Munisteri (1980), Gary Nelson (1981), Greg Robertson (1982), Frank Reilly (1982-1986), Richard Munisteri 18 (1987), Steve Stockman (1987-1988), Paul Bartley (1988-1989), 19 Sharin Shafer (1990-1991), Scott Gaille (1991-1992), Andy Panos 20 (1992-1993), Shawn Roberts (1993), David Guenthner (1994), Robert 21 Johnson (1994-1996), Robert Means (1996-1997), Fred 22 Tate (1997-1999), Liz Farrell (1999), Brent Tantillo (2000), Chris Allen 23 24 (2001-2003), David Rushing (2003-2005), Randy Samuelson (2005-2006), David White (2006-2009), Elizabeth White (2009-2011), 25 26 and Jeff Morris (2011-Present); and

27 WHEREAS, YCT has many notable alumni, including former

2

Republican Party of Texas Chairman Steve Munisteri, U.S. Senator
Rand Paul, U.S. Congressman Jeb Hensarling, and former U.S.
Congressman Steve Stockman; and

H.R. No. 2817

WHEREAS, The members of Young Conservatives of Texas have consistently worked hard to promote the conservative principles in which they believe, and they have contributed their time and energy to many political campaigns; on March 2, 2015, they celebrated their group's numerous achievements during the past three and a half decades; now, therefore, be it

10 RESOLVED, That the Senate of the 84th Texas Legislature 11 hereby commemorate the 35th anniversary of Young Conservatives of 12 Texas and extend to its members sincere best wishes for the future; 13 and, be it further

14 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 15 prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the 16 Texas Senate.

3