H.R. No. 2818

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, National Cystic Fibrosis Month in May 2015 provides 2 a fitting opportunity for volunteers across Texas and the nation to 3 raise awareness about this condition and to promote research for a 4 cure; and

5 WHEREAS, Cystic fibrosis is a life-threatening genetic 6 disease that attacks the respiratory and digestive systems, 7 clogging the lungs and making it difficult for the body to break 8 down food and absorb nutrients; and

9 WHEREAS, The disease afflicts 70,000 people worldwide, 10 including 30,000 children and adults in the United States; 11 moreover, it is estimated that 10 million Americans are symptomless 12 carriers of the cystic fibrosis gene; and

WHEREAS, Cystic fibrosis used to be considered a children's disease because most patients were diagnosed when they were young and did not live long, but advancements in research and care now enable many people with the disease to live into their 30s and 40s and beyond; and

WHEREAS, The nonprofit Cystic Fibrosis Foundation works to find a cure and helps to fund treatment centers across the nation, including clinics in Houston, Corpus Christi, Dallas, San Antonio, Fort Worth, Austin, Temple, Amarillo, Lubbock, and Tyler; and

22 WHEREAS, Great strides have been made in the treatment of 23 cystic fibrosis, but too many people continue to be affected by this 24 devastating disease, and during this special month, Texans are

1

H.R. No. 2818 1 encouraged to come together and join the search for a cure; now, 2 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
Legislature hereby recognize May 2015 as Cystic Fibrosis Awareness
Month in Texas.

Crownover

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 2818

H.R. No. 2818

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2818 was adopted by the House on May 21, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House