H.R. No. 2823

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Highland Park High School Division 1 and 2 Division 2 lacrosse teams both captured titles at the 2015 Texas 3 High School Lacrosse League State Championships on May 10, 2015, in 4 Round Rock; and

WHEREAS, Guided by head coach Derek Thomson, the Division 1 5 squad finished the season with an outstanding record of 14 wins and 6 just 3 losses; the team's exciting run through the postseason 7 included a victory against Memorial High School for the 8 super-regional championship and a dominating 15-6 win over Allen 9 High School in the semifinals; matching up against The Woodlands in 10 11 the title contest, Highland Park took control of the game by scoring 12 three goals in the closing minutes of the first half and adding three more shortly after the intermission; the Scots employed a 13 14 sound defensive strategy the rest of the way to secure a 10-4 triumph and the school's sixth lacrosse championship; and 15

16 WHEREAS, Highland Park's Division 2 team compiled an equally impressive 15-3 overall record in 2015 on their way to the state 17 title; the Scots began the playoffs by defeating Greenhill and 18 Magnolia High Schools before clinching the super-regional title 19 20 with a 12-6 victory over the Texas Military Institute-Episcopal 21 School of Texas; Highland Park then took down McKinney High School 22 in the semifinals to earn a spot in the Division 2 finale; with the 23 state crown on the line, the team turned in a clutch performance against Colleyville High School, building an early lead and then 24

1

putting the game away with seven goals in the final quarter to claim
the state championship; and

3 WHEREAS, With the immense success of both teams in 2015, 4 Highland Park has become only the third lacrosse program in THSLL 5 history to win the Division 1 and Division 2 titles in the same 6 season; and

7 WHEREAS, The talented lacrosse athletes from Highland Park 8 High School have demonstrated the skill and dedication of true 9 champions, and they may take great pride in their exceptional 10 achievements; now, therefore, be it

11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 12 Legislature hereby congratulate the Highland Park High School 13 Division 1 and Division 2 lacrosse teams on winning 2015 Texas High 14 School Lacrosse League state championships and extend to the 15 players and coaches sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it 16 further

17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 18 prepared for the teams as an expression of high regard by the Texas 19 House of Representatives.

Meyer

H.R. No. 2823

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

## H.R. No. 2823

H.R. No. 2823

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2823 was adopted by the House on May 15, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House