By: Guerra

H.R. No. 2846

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The *Monitor* newspaper of McAllen made a very fine 2 showing in the 2015 Texas Associated Press Managing Editors 3 Headliners Excellence in Journalism Awards, competing against 4 other papers of similar size in Class AAA; and

5 WHEREAS, Past and present staff members were recognized with 6 multiple awards for their work in the *Monitor*; metro editor Jared 7 Taylor received first place in the Star Breaking News Report of the 8 Year category, while former staffer Jacob Fischler won the Star 9 Reporter of the Year title, as well as second place for Specialty 10 Reporting; and

11 WHEREAS, Former staff photographer Gabe Hernandez earned two 12 first-place awards, in the Photo Gallery and Photojournalism categories, and former staff member Elizabeth Findell earned first 13 14 place in the Specialty Reporting category; moreover, lead graphic designer Juan Luevano took home two first-place awards, in the 15 16 Feature Page Design by an Individual and Infographics categories; the paper's other first-place winner was film critic Brooke Corso, 17 18 in the Comment and Criticism category; and

WHEREAS, Demonstrating the depth of talent at the newspaper, the staff also collected many other trophies; second-place awards went to book reviewer David Bowles for Comment and Criticism, Joel Martinez for Spot News Photography, Kristen Mosbrucker for Business Reporting, and Mr. Fischler, Lorenzo Zazueta-Castro, and Amanda Taylor for Star Breaking News Report of the Year; moreover,

1

H.R. No. 2846

Ms. Taylor shared in the third-place award for Feature Series with former reporter Madeleine Smither and former features editor Amy Nichol Smith; third-place winners also included Sandra Sanchez for Editorial Writing, Delcia Lopez for Star Photographer of the Year, and Brad Nibert for News Page Design by an Individual; among several honorable mentions was Amy Casebier in Star Designer of the Year; and

8 WHEREAS, The many accolades garnered by the *Monitor* reflect 9 the paper's strong commitment to quality journalism, and the 10 winners may indeed take pride in their accomplishments; now, 11 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the *Monitor* newspaper on its strong performance in the 2015 Texas Associated Press Managing Editors Headliners Excellence in Journalism Awards and extend to the honorees sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 19 prepared for the paper as an expression of high regard by the Texas 20 House of Representatives.

2