H.R. No. 2928

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, For 100 years, residents of Dallas have joined
 together to celebrate their faith at Holy Trinity Greek Orthodox
 Church; and

WHEREAS, Established in South Dallas in 1915 by immigrants from Greece, Holy Trinity has since played a vital role in the community, growing with the city and providing members with myriad opportunities for fellowship and outreach; the current church facility, with its beautiful Byzantine iconography, was built in 1991 and serves more than 1,000 parish families; and

WHEREAS, The congregation has benefited from the able leadership of a number of dedicated priests through the decades; today, that tradition is continued by the Reverend Christopher Constantinides, who has been the presiding priest since 2006 and who served as an assistant priest at Holy Trinity in the late 1970s and early 1980s; and

16 WHEREAS, The members of the parish are observing the church's 17 centennial with a variety of special events in 2015, including a 18 golf tournament, a gala, and an Orthodox Ecclesiastical exhibit at 19 the Museum of Biblical Art; moreover, in September the church will 20 host its 59th Annual Greek Food Festival of Dallas, a popular 21 gathering that honors the Greek Orthodox faith, culture, cuisine, 22 and traditions; and

23 WHEREAS, Holy Trinity Greek Orthodox Church has long served 24 as a source of inspiration and guidance to those who worship there,

1

1 and its continued existence is a testament to the unwavering 2 commitment of its members and clergy, both past and present; now, 3 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
Legislature hereby commemorate the 100th anniversary of Holy
Trinity Greek Orthodox Church and extend to its congregation
sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas 10 House of Representatives.

Коор

H.R. No. 2928

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 2928

3

H.R. No. 2928

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2928 was adopted by the House on May 20, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House