By: Tinderholt

H.R. No. 2964

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Tena Phelps, a teacher at Sherrod Elementary School,
has been named the winner of the 2014-2015 AWARE Award of Excellence
in the fifth through sixth grade category; and

WHEREAS, Formed in 1989, the AWARE Foundation recognizes and 4 5 rewards outstanding teachers in the Arlington Independent School District; each year, members of the foundation's selection 6 7 committee undertake the challenging task of choosing the finest 8 educators in the district through a process of nomination, 9 classroom observation, and interviewing; in being designated as the winner of the fifth through sixth grade award, Ms. Phelps was 10 presented with a cash prize of \$3,000 at the organization's awards 11 12 banquet on May 5, 2015; and

WHEREAS, Quality educators play an essential role in preparing young people to become successful adults, and the passion, commitment, and creativity that Tena Phelps has demonstrated in her work has made her an exemplary role model for her fellow teachers in the Arlington Independent School District; now, therefore, be it

19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 20 Legislature hereby congratulate Tena Phelps on being selected as 21 the winner of a 2014-2015 AWARE Award of Excellence and extend to 22 her sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Ms. Phelps as an expression of high regard by the Texas

1

H.R. No. 2964

1 House of Representatives.