H.R. No. 2971

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Brittany Brewer and Matthew Parsons of Midway High
- 2 School have been accepted to attend the 2015 summer music program at
- 3 the Boston University Tanglewood Institute; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The Tanglewood Institute was established in 1966 to
- 5 challenge and cultivate young classical musicians; students are
- 6 selected for the summer program through a rigorous process that
- 7 requires an extensive application, a letter of recommendation, and
- 8 an audition video; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Ms. Brewer, a sophomore, was selected for the Young
- 10 Artists Vocal Program, and she also received a competitive
- 11 scholarship; she is a member of Midway's Meistersingers choir, and
- 12 she was selected for the 2015 All-State Mixed Choir by the Texas
- 13 Music Educators Association; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Mr. Parsons, a junior, was accepted to the Clarinet
- 15 Workshop; he was chosen as a 2015 All-State soloist by the TMEA, and
- 16 he is a principal clarinetist for the Midway Wind Symphony, the Waco
- 17 Youth Orchestra, and the Waco Wind Ensemble; and
- WHEREAS, These talented young Texans have pursued their goals
- 19 with remarkable drive and an unwavering commitment to excellence,
- 20 and they may take great pride in all that they have accomplished as
- 21 they each look forward to a future bright with promise; now,
- 22 therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate Brittany Brewer and Matthew

H.R. No. 2971

- 1 Parsons on their acceptance to the 2015 summer music program at the
- 2 Boston University Tanglewood Institute and extend to them sincere
- 3 best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 5 for Ms. Brewer and Mr. Parsons as an expression of high regard by
- 6 the Texas House of Representatives.

Anderson of McLennan

H.R. No. 2971

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2971 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House