H.R. No. 3040

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The pioneering Lufkin television station KTRE is
 marking its 60th anniversary in 2015; and

3 WHEREAS, Headed by E. L. Kurth, the Forest Capital 4 Broadcasting Company obtained a television license from the Federal 5 Communications Commission in 1953 and began construction on a TV 6 station with the same call letters as its radio station, KTRE; when 7 it went on the air on August 31, 1955, KTRE-TV became the first 8 satellite station in the country; and

WHEREAS, Over the years, the ABC affiliate expanded its 9 audience through a number of popular programs, including the HH 10 11 Ranch Show, Howdy Doody, and The Adventures of Wild Bill Hickok; the 12 station was purchased in 1964 by Lucille Buford, who made it a satellite of Tyler-based KLTV and converted it to color broadcasts; 13 14 owned by Raycom Media since 2006, KTRE began broadcasting a digital-only signal in 2009 and airing programs in the high 15 definition format in 2013; and 16

WHEREAS, Today, the award-winning station reaches an audience of approximately 400,000 people in 29 counties; it benefits from the able leadership of vice president and general manager Pat Stacey and station manager Starla Bickerstaff, as well as from the hard work of its dedicated staff; and

22 WHEREAS, For six decades, since the dawn of television 23 broadcasting in East Texas, KTRE has been a reliable source of news, 24 weather, sports, and entertainment for area residents, and the

1

1 station continues to enrich and enlighten its community; now, 2 therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 4 Legislature hereby commemorate the 60th anniversary of KTRE-TV and 5 extend to all those associated with the station sincere best wishes 6 for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for KTRE as an expression of high regard by the Texas House
of Representatives.

Ashby

H.R. No. 3040

2

H.R. No. 3040

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 3040 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House