H.R. No. 3041

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The San Augustine Drug Company received a Texas
- 2 Treasure Business Award from the Texas Historical Commission at a
- 3 ceremony in San Augustine on May 2, 2015; and
- 4 WHEREAS, This prestigious honor is bestowed on businesses
- 5 that have provided jobs and enriched the Texas economy for 50 years
- 6 or more; and
- 7 WHEREAS, The San Augustine Drug Company was founded in 1904
- 8 by two brothers, Asa and Alonzo Rushing, who operated the store for
- 9 more than 60 years; during that time, they provided their community
- 10 with prescription drugs as well as electrical appliances and
- 11 gasoline; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The Rushing brothers sold the company to Therman
- 13 Bridges in 1965, and Mr. Bridges sold it to his daughter and
- 14 son-in-law, Debbie and Mike Jackson, in 1990; and
- WHEREAS, Today, the store continues to be a popular gathering
- 16 spot for the community, as patrons come in to pick up their
- 17 prescriptions, purchase gifts for their loved ones, visit with
- 18 friends over a cup of coffee, or buy their children ice cream at the
- 19 soda fountain; and
- 20 WHEREAS, This classic small-town pharmacy has contributed to
- 21 the prosperity and the quality of life in San Augustine for more
- 22 than 110 years, and it is truly deserving of this unique honor from
- 23 the Texas Historical Commission; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas

H.R. No. 3041

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate the San Augustine Drug Company for
- 2 receiving a 2015 Texas Treasure Business Award and extend to Debbie
- 3 and Mike Jackson and their staff sincere best wishes for continued
- 4 success; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the San Augustine Drug Company as an expression of high
- 7 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Ashby

H.R. No. 3041

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 3041 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House