H.R. No. 3043

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Blake Hyland of McGregor is showing tremendous
courage and resilience as he continues to recover from a serious
accident he suffered on February 18, 2014; and

WHEREAS, A 15-year-old student at Live Oak Classical School who had participated in gymnastics for nine years, Blake was attempting to perform a new trick on the vault when he fell and sustained a critical head injury; he underwent emergency surgery and subsequently remained in a coma for three weeks; and

9 WHEREAS, In the months since, this brave young man has made 10 outstanding progress on the road to recovery; he has regained some 11 of his strength and mobility, and he recently tested at a 12 ninth-grade level or higher, marking a significant milestone in the 13 return of his cognitive functioning; and

WHEREAS, Over the course of his ordeal, Blake has drawn strength from the love and encouragement of his parents, Pat and Cindy Hyland, as well as from the outpouring of prayers and support that he received from the local community and from others far and wide; on September 12, he was presented with a Stand Tall Award at the Ronald McDonald House of Dallas to recognize his tenacity in the face of extraordinary challenges; and

21 WHEREAS, Through the strides he has made in reclaiming his 22 life, Blake Hyland has distinguished himself as a young man of 23 remarkable determination, and he is an inspiration to all who know 24 his story; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 3043

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 2 Legislature hereby honor Blake Hyland for his perseverance in 3 overcoming a life-changing injury and extend to him sincere best 4 wishes for continued success toward achieving his goals; and, be it 5 further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. Hyland as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Anderson of McLennan

H.R. No. 3043

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 3043 was adopted by the House on May 22, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House