H.R. No. 3112

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Mariachi Cotuleno band of Cotulla High School
won the Class 3A division of the 2015 Texas High School Mariachi
Competition in San Antonio on February 7, 2015; and

WHEREAS, Sponsored by the Mexican American School Board Association and the Texas Association of Mariachi Educators, this annual statewide competition brought together 35 high school mariachi ensembles from across Texas; and

8 WHEREAS, Under the leadership of band directors Francisco 9 Ramirez and Elio Ramirez, the 19 mariachi musicians of Cotulla High 10 School took top honors in their division for the second year in a 11 row with their spirited performance; and

12 WHEREAS, The members of Mariachi Cotuleno are Alyssa Quiles, Malyssa Quiles, Abigail Saldivar, Lyzette Guzman, Jenna-Rae 13 14 Flores, Mellanie Garza, Kristian Saldivar, Rochell Moreno, Cody Thomas, Adilem Perez, Breanna Sanchez, Lisarae Guzman, Julie 15 16 Martinez, Brandy Gonzales, Senaida Ramirez, Katy Osio, Anika Nieto, 17 Anthony Jennings, and Randi Martinez; the group has benefited from the assistance of Isidoro Flores, a parent of one of the band 18 members who attends every performance and helps to set up the 19 20 equipment; and

21 WHEREAS, These talented young musicians are a source of great 22 pride to their school and community, and they may take 23 well-deserved satisfaction in this outstanding achievement; now, 24 therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 3112

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Mariachi Cotuleno of Cotulla High 3 School on winning the Class 3A division of the 2015 Texas High 4 School Mariachi Competition and extend to the band sincere best 5 wishes for continued success; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mariachi Cotuleno as an expression of high regard by 8 the Texas House of Representatives.

Guillen

H.R. No. 3112

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 3112 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House