H.R. No. 3162

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Shelby Russell has been named salutatorian of the 2 Class of 2015 at Hargrave High School in Huffman, and she indeed 3 merits special recognition for receiving this significant honor; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, Earning the title of salutatorian requires not only 6 intellect and aptitude, but also four years of dedication to the 7 highest academic standards; in securing her place as one of the two 8 top ranking students in her class, Ms. Russell demonstrated a 9 thorough understanding of a wide range of subjects, and her 10 attainment of this coveted distinction is the crowning achievement 11 of a notable high school career; and

12 WHEREAS, Ms. Russell also participated in numerous 13 extracurricular activities, including volleyball and track, and 14 was a member of the National Honor Society, the National Society of High School Scholars, and the Christian Student Union; furthermore, 15 16 she has served her peers as treasurer of her senior class; she plans to continue her education at the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor, 17 where she will play volleyball and major 18 in а health sciences-related field; and 19

20 WHEREAS, The daughter of Mark and Katy Russell, Shelby 21 Russell has earned the respect and admiration of her teachers and 22 classmates, and her exceptional scholastic ability and commitment 23 to excellence have opened the way to a bright and promising future 24 for this outstanding young Texan; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 3162

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Shelby Russell, salutatorian of 3 the Hargrave High School Class of 2015, and extend to her sincere 4 best wishes for continued success as she begins the next exciting 5 chapter of her life; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Ms. Russell as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Huberty

H.R. No. 3162

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 3162 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House