H.R. No. 3171

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Katrina Parkey, a participant in the McClendon 2 Scholars Program, has provided valuable support as a legislative 3 intern in the office of Speaker Joe Straus during the 84th Texas 4 Legislature; and

5 WHEREAS, Created in 2004, the McClendon Scholars Program, 6 which is also known as The University of Texas at San Antonio 7 Legislative Scholars Program, is a collaborative effort between 8 State Representative Ruth Jones McClendon and the UTSA Institute 9 for Law and Public Affairs; the initiative gives students who have 10 an interest in public policy the opportunity to work as interns at 11 the State Capitol during legislative sessions; and

12 WHEREAS, A senior at UTSA, Ms. Parkey expects to receive her bachelor's degree in history and legal studies in May 2015; she 13 14 received a full-ride undergraduate scholarship as Terry а Foundation Scholar, and she served a semester-long internship at 15 the Holocaust Museum in Washington, D.C., as a Bill Archer Fellow; 16 she has also served as a justice in the Student Government 17 Association, and she was the family relations director of the For 18 the Kids Dance Marathon, helping to raise more than \$50,000 for 19 20 charity; and

21 WHEREAS, While gaining important experience in the field of 22 public service as a member of Speaker Straus's staff, Katrina 23 Parkey has contributed to the workings of state government 24 firsthand and learned more about the legislative process and the

1

H.R. No. 3171

issues facing citizens of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
 Legislature hereby commend Katrina Parkey for her work as a
 McClendon Scholar and a legislative intern in the office of Speaker
 Joe Straus and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued
 success in all her endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Ms. Parkey as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

McClendon

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 3171

H.R. No. 3171

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 3171 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House