H.R. No. 3173

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Eduardo Zerbe, a participant in the McClendon
- 2 Scholars Program, has provided valuable support as a legislative
- 3 intern in the office of State Representative Ruth Jones McClendon
- 4 during the 84th Texas Legislature; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Created in 2004, the McClendon Scholars Program,
- 6 which is also known as The University of Texas at San Antonio
- 7 Legislative Scholars Program, is a collaborative effort between
- 8 State Representative Ruth Jones McClendon and the UTSA Institute
- 9 for Law and Public Affairs; the initiative gives students who have
- 10 an interest in public policy the opportunity to work as interns at
- 11 the State Capitol during legislative sessions; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Mr. Zerbe is graduating from UTSA in May with a
- 13 bachelor's degree in political science and a minor in legal studies
- 14 and economics; during his college career, he has attended the
- 15 Public Policy and International Affairs Junior Summer Institute at
- 16 Carnegie Mellon University, and he has served as a justice for the
- 17 Student Government Association and a junior representative on the
- 18 Honors College Student Advisory Board; and
- 19 WHEREAS, In addition to these pursuits, this notable young
- 20 Texan had the privilege of visiting Washington, D.C., in 2014 to
- 21 take part in the Bill Archer Fellowship program, and he completed
- 22 UTSA's Summer Law School Preparation Academy in 2013; maintaining a
- 23 keen interest in politics, he spent a year as an intern for the
- 24 Bexar County Democratic Party and has assisted in the reelection

H.R. No. 3173

- 1 campaign of U.S. Representative Lloyd Doggett; he currently serves
- 2 on the board of directors for M.O.V.E. San Antonio, a nonprofit
- 3 organization he helped to found in 2013 that focuses on increasing
- 4 youth participation in politics; and
- 5 WHEREAS, While gaining important experience in the field of
- 6 public service as a member of Representative McClendon's staff,
- 7 Eduardo Zerbe has contributed to the workings of state government
- 8 firsthand and learned more about the legislative process and the
- 9 issues facing citizens of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby commend Eduardo Zerbe for his work as a
- 12 McClendon Scholar and legislative intern in the office of State
- 13 Representative Ruth Jones McClendon and extend to him sincere best
- 14 wishes for continued success in all his endeavors; and, be it
- 15 further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 17 prepared for Mr. Zerbe as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 18 House of Representatives.

McClendon

H.R. No. 3173

Straus González Otto Allen Guerra Paddie Alonzo Parker Guillen Alvarado Gutierrez Paul Anchia Harless Peña Anderson of Dallas Phelan Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Phillips Herrero Ashby Howard Pickett Aycock Huberty Price Bell Hughes Raney Bernal Raymond Hunter Blanco Isaac Reynolds Bohac Israel Riddle Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Rinaldi Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Romero, Jr. King of Hemphill Burrows Rose King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Sanford Canales Schaefer Schofield Capriglione Clardy Klick Schubert Coleman Koop Shaheen Collier Krause Sheets Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smith Leach Smithee Dale Darby Longoria Spitzer Davis of Dallas Springer Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stephenson Deshotel Márquez Stickland Dukes Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Elkins McClendon Tinderholt Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Fallon Meyer Miles Turner of Tarrant Farias Miller of Comal Farney VanDeaver Miller of Fort Bend Villalba Farrar Minjarez Vo Fletcher Moody Walle Flynn White of Bell White of Tyler Frank Morrison Frullo Muñoz, Jr. Galindo Workman Murphy Geren Murr Wray Giddings Naishtat Wıı Zedler Goldman Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Gonzales

	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 3173 was	adopted by the House on May 30,
by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 3173

2015, by a non-record vote.