H.R. No. 3174

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Roderick Taylor, a participant in the McClendon 2 Scholars Program, has provided valuable support as a legislative 3 intern in the office of State Representative Armando Martinez 4 during the 84th Texas Legislature; and

5 WHEREAS, Created in 2004, the McClendon Scholars Program, 6 which is also known as The University of Texas at San Antonio 7 Legislative Scholars Program, is a collaborative effort between 8 State Representative Ruth Jones McClendon and the UTSA Institute 9 for Law and Public Affairs; the initiative gives students who have 10 an interest in public policy the opportunity to work as interns at 11 the State Capitol during legislative sessions; and

12 WHEREAS, Mr. Taylor is a student at UTSA, where he is working 13 toward his bachelor of business administration in economics degree, 14 and he expects to graduate in May 2017; he has excelled in his academic work, earning himself a place in the Honors College and on 15 the dean's list, and has also volunteered in behalf of such 16 worthwhile endeavors as the East Texas Food Bank, Keep Austin 17 Beautiful, Habitat for Humanity, and the Discovery Science Place; 18 in addition, in November 2014, he organized and managed a San 19 Antonio fund-raiser for the Crohn's and Colitis Foundation of 20 21 America; and

22 WHEREAS, While gaining important experience in the field of 23 public service as a member of Representative Martinez's staff, 24 Roderick Taylor has contributed to the workings of state government

1

H.R. No. 3174

firsthand and learned more about the legislative process and the 1 issues facing citizens of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it 2 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 4 Legislature hereby commend Roderick Taylor for his work as a McClendon Scholar and legislative intern in the office of State 5 6 Representative Armando Martinez and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success in all his endeavors; and, be it 7 further 8

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for Mr. Taylor as an expression of high regard by the Texas 11 House of Representatives.

> McClendon Martinez

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 3174

H.R. No. 3174

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 3174 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House