H.R. No. 3194

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Harmony Science Academy in San Antonio has been
- 2 ranked 78th in the state and 695th nationwide in the 2015 list of
- 3 America's Best High Schools published by U.S. News and World
- 4 Report; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The magazine analyzed approximately 19,700 public
- 6 high schools across the country, and of those schools, 2.5 percent
- 7 were awarded gold medals, 10.3 percent silver, and 20.2 percent
- 8 bronze; Harmony Science Academy earned a silver medal by posting
- 9 high scores for such academic indicators as college readiness,
- 10 student-teacher ratio, proficiency in English and mathematics, and
- 11 Advanced Placement participation; and
- WHEREAS, Ably led by principal Yasar Cakir, Harmony Science
- 13 Academy provides a safe, caring, and collaborative atmosphere to a
- 14 diverse student population of approximately 900 in grades K-12; the
- 15 academy is one of 43 tuition-free Harmony Public Schools, which
- 16 boast a 0 percent dropout rate and a 100 percent college acceptance
- 17 rate; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Harmony Science Academy has equipped many young
- 19 Texans in House District 124 with the knowledge and skills
- 20 necessary for success in the years to come, and the school is indeed
- 21 deserving of recognition for this outstanding achievement; now,
- 22 therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate Harmony Science Academy on its

H.R. No. 3194

- 1 ranking as the 78th best high school in the state and that its
- 2 students, faculty, and administrators be extended sincere best
- 3 wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Minjarez

H.R. No. 3194

Straus González Otto Allen Guerra Paddie Alonzo Parker Guillen Alvarado Gutierrez Paul Anchia Harless Peña Anderson of Dallas Phelan Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Phillips Herrero Ashby Howard Pickett Aycock Huberty Price Bell Hughes Raney Bernal Raymond Hunter Blanco Isaac Reynolds Bohac Israel Riddle Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Rinaldi Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Romero, Jr. King of Hemphill Burrows Rose King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Sanford Canales Schaefer Schofield Capriglione Clardy Klick Schubert Coleman Koop Shaheen Collier Krause Sheets Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smith Leach Smithee Dale Darby Longoria Spitzer Davis of Dallas Springer Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stephenson Deshotel Márquez Stickland Dukes Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Elkins McClendon Tinderholt Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Fallon Meyer Miles Turner of Tarrant Farias Miller of Comal Farney VanDeaver Miller of Fort Bend Villalba Farrar Minjarez Vo Fletcher Moody Walle Flynn White of Bell White of Tyler Frank Morrison Frullo Muñoz, Jr. Galindo Workman Murphy Geren Murr Wray Giddings Naishtat Wıı

Nevárez

Oliveira

Goldman

Gonzales

Zedler

Zerwas

	H.R. No. 3194
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 3194 was	adopted by the House on May 25,
2015, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House