H.R. No. 3224

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Johnny F. Giles is retiring from the Lufkin

Independent School District on June 30, 2015, drawing to a close a

3 notable career in education that has spanned four decades; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Giles earned his bachelor's degree in general

5 elementary education at Jarvis Christian College in 1975, and that

6 same year he began his career as a math teacher and adult education

7 instructor in Emory; after receiving a master's degree in school

8 administration from Stephen F. Austin State University in 1979, he

9 held several positions with the SFA Technical Assistance Center of

10 the Southwest until 1981, when he became an assistant principal in

11 Palestine; and

2

13

WHEREAS, Joining Lufkin ISD in 1983, Mr. Giles initially

served as principal of Anderson Elementary School, and two years

14 later he became principal of Lufkin Junior High East; in 1991, he

15 was appointed as the district's at-risk coordinator, and for the

16 next five years he oversaw a variety of programs targeted at the

17 system's most vulnerable students; he went on to serve as assistant

18 superintendent for administration, a position he has held for

19 nearly two decades; and

20 WHEREAS, Through his dedication and professionalism, Johnny

21 Giles has greatly benefited the students, faculty, and staff of

22 Lufkin ISD, and he may indeed reflect with pride on a career well

23 spent as he embarks on the next exciting chapter of his life; now,

24 therefore, be it

H.R. No. 3224

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Johnny F. Giles on his retirement
- 3 from the Lufkin Independent School District and extend to him
- 4 sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. Giles as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Ashby

H.R. No. 3224

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 3224 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House