H.R. No. 3253

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Katie Martin has ably served her fellow Texans as an
 aide in the office of State Representative Joe Moody during the 84th
 Legislative Session; and

WHEREAS, Since joining the staff, Ms. Martin has provided vital assistance with public education and child advocacy issues; even though she sustained a temporarily debilitating injury following a serious fall, she ably fulfilled her responsibilities as a team member; she demonstrated exceptional skill, dedication, and attention to detail, with the small exception of that pesky cliff; and

11 WHEREAS, Ms. Martin, a Dallas native, completed her 12 bachelor's degree in international relations and global studies at The University of Texas at Austin in 2012; as an undergraduate, she 13 14 cofounded a mentorship program for boys in Ghana and an empowerment group for boys at an East Austin middle school; she has since served 15 16 two years in AmeriCorps, mentoring and tutoring students in San Antonio and Dallas and training volunteer tutors as the inaugural 17 site coordinator at the Charles Rice Learning Center; in 2014, she 18 received the AmeriCorps "Make a Difference" Governor's Volunteer 19 20 Award; and

21 WHEREAS, This outstanding young Texan is pursuing a dual 22 master's in social work and public affairs at UT in preparation for 23 a career in public service, and her outstanding performance as a 24 legislative aide augurs a future bright with promise; now,

1

H.R. No. 3253

1 therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 3 Legislature hereby commend Katie Martin for her service as a 4 legislative aide in the office of State Representative Joe Moody 5 and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success in all 6 her endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Ms. Martin as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

Moody

H.R. No. 3253

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 3253 was adopted by the House on May 29, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House