RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Students from Sam Houston State University have

2 rendered outstanding service to their fellow Texans as participants

3 in the Sam Houston Austin Internship Program during the 84th

4 Legislature; and

12

13

5 WHEREAS, Founded in 2013, this worthwhile initiative is

6 designed to give SHSU students the unique opportunity to work in the

7 offices of state lawmakers and observe the legislative process up

8 close; over the course of the legislative session, participants

9 handle a range of important responsibilities and receive mentoring

10 from elected officials and their staff; and

11 WHEREAS, This year's class of interns includes Ariel Traub in

the office of State Senator Charles Schwertner, Sadie McLaughlin in

the office of State Representative John Otto, Guadalupe Cuellar in

14 the office of State Representative Will Metcalf, Shelby O'Brien in

15 the office of State Representative Todd Hunter, Sarah Landsman in

16 the office of State Representative Ron Simmons, Jessica Rodriguez

17 in the office of State Representative Senfronia Thompson, Alexis

18 Gonzales in the office of State Representative Armando "Mando"

19 Martinez, and Oscar Aguilar in the office of State Representative

20 Carol Alvarado; and

21 WHEREAS, These noteworthy Texans have performed their duties

22 as legislative interns with skill and dedication, and they have

23 gained valuable leadership experience while learning more about the

24 issues confronting citizens of the Lone Star State; now, therefore,

H.R. No. 3386

- 1 be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby honor the participants in the Sam Houston Austin
- 4 Internship Program and extend to each of them sincere best wishes
- 5 for the future; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 7 for the students as an expression of high regard by the Texas House
- 8 of Representatives.

Otto

H.R. No. 3386

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 3386 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House