H.R. No. 3406

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The boys' golf team of Normangee High School proved
- 2 itself one of the finest in Texas by claiming the 2015 University
- 3 Interscholastic League Class 2A state championship at the state
- 4 tournament in Austin; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Shooting a combined 630 in the two-day event, held
- 6 April 29-30 at the Roy Kizer Golf Course, the team beat runner-up
- 7 Olney High School by 28 strokes; the victory capped off an
- 8 impressive season in which Normangee captured the District 26-2A
- 9 championship as well as the Region 4-2A crown; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Normangee was led by Logan Young, who shot a
- 11 67-71-138 to become the Class 2A individual champion for the second
- 12 time in three years, and he was followed closely by teammate Austin
- 13 Aguirre in fifth place with 151; also contributing to the team's
- 14 triumph was James Guy Gierisch at 167 and Shane Wes Nolen and Nash
- 15 Lincecum at 175 each; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Throughout their impressive run to the Class 2A
- 17 crown, the Panthers benefited from the expertise and able guidance
- 18 of head coach Rusty Hunter and assistant coach Chris Nolen; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Through their talent and determination, the members
- 20 of the Normangee High School boys' golf team reached the pinnacle of
- 21 success during the 2015 season, and these dedicated
- 22 student-athletes may take justifiable pride in this outstanding
- 23 accomplishment; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas

H.R. No. 3406

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate the Normangee High School boys'
- 2 golf team on winning the 2015 UIL Class 2A state championship and
- 3 extend to the team's players and coaches sincere best wishes for the
- 4 future; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Ashby

H.R. No. 3406

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 3406 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House