RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, In 1995, a group of young, civic-minded professionals in Houston founded the R Club to "provide a forum for 2 the next generation of Houston conservatives to actively engage in 3 local and state politics," and to serve the community "by promoting 4 5 the conservative principles of personal and financial responsibility in public service"; and 6

7 WHEREAS, In order to further those goals, the R Club 8 dedicated itself to aiding the campaigns of candidates for public 9 office who best exemplified those goals; and

WHEREAS, The founding members of the illustrious group included a young lawyer named Greg Abbott, who would go on to serve Texas with distinction as a state district judge, as a justice of the Supreme Court of Texas, as attorney general, and as governor; and

WHEREAS, Over the course of its existence, the group also 15 16 would include, and help launch the public service of, many future Texas officeholders, including Supreme Court Justice Jeff Brown, 17 Representative Jim Murphy, Representative Corbin Van Arsdale, 18 Representative Mike Schofield, 1st Court of Appeals Justice Michael 19 20 Massengale, 14th Court of Appeals Justice Brett Busby, 14th Court 21 of Appeals Justice Ken Wise, Judge Grant Dorfman, Judge Tad Halbach, Judge Brock Thomas, Judge Wesley Ward, Harris County Tax 22 23 Assessor-Collector Leo Vasquez, Houston City Councilman and prominent radio host Michael Berry, and Sugar Land City 24

1

1 Councilwoman Jacqueline Baly Chaumette; and

2 WHEREAS, From the beginning, the R Club included members who 3 had years of hands-on experience in fund-raising, grassroots 4 campaigning, and media relations, including serving on the staffs 5 of presidents, governors, U.S. senators, and other prominent 6 elected officials; and

7 WHEREAS, The R Club decided early in its existence to focus on 8 races in which the efforts of its members could provide the 9 difference between winning and losing by focusing its financial 10 resources and the experience of its members on particular local 11 races; and

12 WHEREAS, Among the first campaigns the R Club focused on was 13 that of a candidate for the legislature named Dwayne Bohac, who 14 would ultimately prevail and go on to serve with distinction in the 15 Texas House of Representatives; and

16 WHEREAS, Through the success of its fund-raising events, such 17 as those the club held for U.S. Senators Kay Bailey Hutchison and 18 John Cornyn and for then-attorney general Greg Abbott, the club 19 developed a reputation for being an invaluable asset to 20 officeholders and candidates; and

21 WHEREAS, The club's endorsement became a much sought-after 22 boost to candidates' campaigns in the Houston area, and its monthly 23 meetings became a must-attend event for conservative candidates 24 seeking elective office; and

WHEREAS, The R Club met for most of its existence in a conference room at the offices of the law firm of Baker Botts, LLP, in One Shell Plaza in downtown Houston; and

2

1 WHEREAS, Having served its purpose of providing "a forum for the next generation of Houston conservatives" (and with its 2 original members having grown considerably older and less able to 3 expend the amount of time and energy they once did to support the 4 5 club's efforts), the members of the R Club decided to wind down the operations of the club and held a final event on Thursday, March 26, 6 2015, at the Redneck Country Club in Stafford, at which the exploits 7 8 and successful endeavors of the club were fondly recalled; now, therefore, be it 9

10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 11 Legislature hereby congratulate the R Club for 20 years of 12 distinguished service to the cause of conservatism in Texas, 13 commemorate the R Club's final event, and extend sincere best 14 wishes to every person who has been a member of the club during its 15 storied history; and, be it further

16 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 17 prepared for the R Club as an expression of high regard by the Texas 18 House of Representatives.

> Schofield Murphy

3

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 3481 was adopted by the House on May 31, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House